Skip to content

Catching Up

May 25, 2012

So it’s March 25, and I’ve blogged 4 times this month.  Can I just say that I am so enjoying my life this week!  There is nothing, absolutely nothing, on my calendar.  I am free, free, free!  Let’s contrast that with the previous couple of weeks, when there was something going on almost every day and night, and one Saturday in there, we actually had to be at four different events.

Life is slowing down though.  We’ve had our last history club meeting, last Kindermusik class ever for D, and my last symphony concert (and the attendant rehearsals and mad hours of practicing.)  Add to that my grandpa’s funeral, C’s 9th birthday (which fell on Mother’s Day this year), a couple of parties, a baptism, a stake family history event, interviews for a scholarship committee I’m on, homeschool park days, and rollerskating/mini-golf for C’s birthday.  And we’re walking a friend’s dog every weekday while she’s at work.  And the boys have all been sick . . . ish, as in not really all that sick, but snotty, sneezing, and coughing just enough to warrant staying home from church last Sunday so as not to infect all the other children.  It’s been fun!

So I’m really glad I’ve had Nothing happening this week!  We’ve gotten a lot of schoolwork done for a change.  It’s been really nice.   We’re still planning on another 2 1/2 weeks of school, where we can actually focus on school and less on everything else outside of the house.

We have two history chapters left and  I think this is the first year we’ve actually stayed on track with history so we won’t have to skim through the remaining chapters.  We’re wrapping up the Roman Empire and also talked about Science, on the other hand, is the bane of my existence.  A will finish his animal study though and I think we’ll continue with plants, along with some hands-on growing experience, through the summer.

A has 8 sentences left in his 4-step analysis book and will probably finish his math book in the next two weeks.  He just finished a huge Latin test on section 3 of First Form and did very well.  I know we’ll continue with math through our summer break, but I haven’t decided about Latin.  We’ve only gotten to week 14 in Writing with Skill and I think we’ll try to finish week 15, which is the end of a section and a nice stopping point.

C is in the middle of First Language Lessons 3 since we didn’t start it until January, but he is working hard and actually enjoys diagramming sentences.  After finishing Writing with Ease 2 a few weeks ago, we’ve kind of taken a break from writing, although his cursive is coming along beautifully (I have a whole post to write about handwriting one of these days!)  We took a month to really solidify multiplication facts and I think he’ll cruise through the rest of Singapore 3A now.  He had a fabulous birthday and is more than slightly obsessed with Star Wars at the moment!

D is 12 lessons away from finishing his First Language Lessons book and has one math review left in Singapore 2B.  After spending a month working on multiplication facts with C however, we realized he’s forgotten how to add and subtract with borrowing and regrouping.  He gets a lot of worksheets from math-drills.com for daily review now!  He is really becoming fluent with his reading.

As for me, I’m looking forward to some weeks off so I can focus on the house and some massive decluttering that needs to take place, and even though that’s what I spent last summer doing, it was obviously not enough and needs to be done again.  Bleh!

Here’s the image on our doorjamb from our pinhole projector during last Sunday’s solar eclipse.

At the cemetery after Grandpa Cal’s funeral:

With 2nd cousins from California:

D is ready to graduate from Kindermusik (more pictures plus video of his final performance whenever Daddy gets them off his iphone and onto my computer!)

9 years old!

Just more to fuel the obsession!

Enjoying a beautiful spring day at the park:

Reclining on the grass for our Roman feast at history club:

All my Roman cuties!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2012 4:59 pm

    Love the togas and Roman feast idea! someday we’ll keep on track with history…

  2. May 25, 2012 10:05 pm

    Love the togas, and the legos. Good luck decluttering, my home is a revolving door for clutter. I too am enjoying our relaxed schedule. I don’t like that our schedule is so packed but this is just a season and shall pass.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

