Skip to content

2013 in 13 Pictures

December 31, 2013

Frankly I have mixed feelings about 2013.  I had one big goal for the year that really needed to happen and didn’t. DH tore his shoulder open in February and finally had surgery in April which affected his work commitments and consequently our income for most of the rest of the year.  We had the Summer of Not-fun that felt like it would never end.  Every day dragged on and  on, and yet fall flew by and here it is New Year’s Eve already!

As I went through the year’s photos for a calendar for the grandparents, I was actually surprised to find that I did indeed take enough photos to fill up a calendar with good things.  Although the big picture was a little bleak at times, we have been blessed immensely in some completely different ways than we had anticipated and I’m looking forward to what 2014 will bring.

I was toying with the idea of doing a top-ten post for 2013 when I found the 2013 in 13 Photo Linkup at House Unseen (which is a fabulously funny blog I enjoy) and thought summing up our year with 13 pictures would be perfect.  (Although if DH weren’t so adamant about not being on the blog I would have chosen a few different photos and I’ll admit I cheated a bit with the birthday collage!)

We began the year with our epic Disneyland vacation with Grandma and Poppa. There were so many great images I could have shared, but this is one of my favorites.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A and I indulged our fascination for family history by going to Rootstech together.  I’ve had some great success with research this year and was even interviewed for the BillionGraves blog.

Rootstech Mar 23, 2013 1-45 PM

As always there was lots of music in our lives from my cello playing and symphony concerts to three boys in piano lessons and ever increasing opportunities to perform.  Hearing them make music together makes my heart happy!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love this picture!  After shoulder surgery, DH was essentially one-armed for a while, but tried hard to be self-sufficient, down to putting toothpaste on with his left hand while holding his toothbrush in his mouth.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In 2013 E turned 3, C turned 10, D turned 9, and A became a teenager!

DH and I got another year older. :) And celebrated 16 years of marriage.

Birthdays 2013

We enjoyed Temple Square through all four seasons.  (Well, maybe not summer–we were pretty housebound.)  We’ve loved living in downtown Salt Lake City with all of its opportunities.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In May we made a quick trip to Great-grandma’s house in Idaho to see Great-grandpa’s new headstone and also had fun roasting hot dogs over a fire in the backyard and making ice cream.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We ended school in June, went to Lagoon the next day, and had big plans for after that when I was hit with the worst morning sickness of my life (Surprise!) and spent most of the next 4 months flat on my back.  This also coincided with the completion of DH’s new building at work and he was working 60-70 hours a week for a while.  So no pictures from summer–We went nowhere and did nothing fun!  But September brought a wonderful and even bigger surprise:

SILVERKRISTIANA20130904145146785

After four boys, we found out we’re having a girl!

First day of school–7th grade, 5th grade, 3rd grade, and preschool mischief-making!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In October we were able to take an overnighter to the Utah Shakespeare Festival and stopped at Cove Fort on the way home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just because I love fall pictures–

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We must relive the epic Gandalf costume we made for Halloween:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
E’s peanut nativity he made in nursery a couple Sundays ago:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

How grateful I am for the knowledge and testimonies of the gospel of Jesus Christ we have been blessed with this year!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamaran permalink
    December 31, 2013 4:34 pm

    Love-love-love all the pictures…but the one handed toothbrush/toothpaste actually made me laugh out loud :)

  2. January 1, 2014 3:12 am

    What fun! I love your year in review photos! Makes me want to look through mine and do a similar post. We’ll see if I get that kind of computer time in the next few days…

  3. January 1, 2014 9:37 pm

    That Gandalf costume is TOTALLY epic. I bow to you!

  4. January 2, 2014 6:27 am

    Lovely photos! I too enjoy family history, and I worked on it over the break. It’s fascinating to look back at our ancestors and think about where we come from.

  5. January 3, 2014 7:10 pm

    sounds like a great year! Congrats on the new little one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

