Skip to content

Go ahead and laugh

January 11, 2014

I was at the fabric store before Halloween and since I didn’t have any children with me (not sure how that happened!) I decided to look at all the flannels to find something to make a receiving blanket for this child.  I found three or four that were so cute!  Then I realized they were all either blue or had trains on them or something that would be just perfect for little boys!  That’s when I realized I had a problem!

I do not know how to shop for little girls!  This is a whole new world for me!

It’s getting better though.  Except for last week when DH was with me at the fabric store and told me I was doing it again. Doing what?  Looking at the boy patterns.  Well, maybe that’s because all the girl patterns were ugly.

Granted, there weren’t a lot of girly fabrics to choose from that day.

I’m finding I have definite likes when it comes to girl clothes.  Pale pink?  Yes.  Yellow? Yes.  Red?  Yes.  Blue?  That’s a given, I love blue!  Except little girl clothes tend not to come in blue.  Pink is everywhere though.

It reminds me of one of my favorite lines from the movie Steel Magnolias.  Julia Roberts is telling someone about her wedding colors.  “My colors are blush and bashful.”  Sally Field, who plays her mother, interjects, “Her colors are pink and pink . . . The sanctuary looks like it’s been hosed down with Pepto-Bismol.”

That bright Barbie/Pepto-Bismol pink?  Probably my least favorite shade of all!  But then I can choose not to wear it myself.

Oh– DH would like to thank everyone that came to my baby shower last weekend for not gifting us with headbands with flowers the size of satellite dishes.  He’s not a fan.  I’m not particularly either.

But pink is definitely growing on me.  I’ve actually ignored the boy clothes the last few times I’ve wandered through the baby aisles.  Today I tried the fabric store again, a different JoAnn from my normal one and it was humongous!  It probably had three times as much fabric.  I actually found quite a few fabrics I really liked and then  spent forever trying to decide between them.  Maybe a smaller selection is a good thing.

I’ve been in definite nesting mode this week.  I don’t know if it was just natural 37-weeks-pregnant nesting instincts, or if it means something will happen soon. On Wednesday I was feeling really anxious because I didn’t have my baby bed at my house let alone a place for it or the parts to turn it into a bassinet, hadn’t unpacked any baby clothes I already own to find the tiny sizes and the gender neutral ones, hadn’t made a receiving blanket, hadn’t packed a hospital bag.  And I’m sure there were a few other things nagging at me like the fact I hadn’t made a menu plan or really had a good stocking-up grocery shopping trip in ages.

So Wednesday afternoon I brought what baby boxes I could find home from our storage unit plus the baby bathtub.  Thursday I brought the baby Pack-n-Play home from Grandma’s house.  Friday DH decided he’d better help me by rearranging furniture and clearing a place for baby to sleep in our bedroom which involved removing a hallway door so he and the boys could move his recliner (bought for his recovery from shoulder surgery) out to the living room before the corner where the Christmas tree stood was overtaken by toys and other miscellany again.

I also made a menu plan for the next couple weeks and stocked up on groceries.  While DH was at work last night, I dug through the three bins of clothing I’d brought from storage only to realize I must still be missing some because most of my tiniest clothing  was not there (and all of my kids have definitely needed the newborn size clothes for a good month.)  Neither were any of my flannel receiving blankets I like to use for swaddling or my breast pump.  I did fortuitously find the bassinet parts and got started packing a bag.  Today I sewed one blanket from fabric I actually already had which I decided I liked better than anything else I found this week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did buy fabric for one more flannel blanket if I get to it next week.  My desire to sew has been growing lately (probably due to not wanting my daughter to look like a hooker when she’s five based on some of the styles I see in the stores.)

Like I said, it’s a whole new world!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2014 4:31 am

    Oi! My Tigress has her first birthday in a week and I’m *still* trying to figure out this whole shopping for a girl Thing. I’m not a fan of pink. It’s livable as a small accent, but if you look at a thing and say, “That’s a pink _______.” Then I’m probably not crazy about it.

    Try avoiding pink when dressing a baby girl. Some days it works better than others. Ask your friends with girls where they shop. I’m finding that it’s different stores. Apparently stores can’t be good at both boy clothes and girl clothes.

    Who knew?

  2. January 12, 2014 7:14 am

    Modest, simple girl clothes are hard to find at times. It only gets worse as they get older. Sorry, just warning you. It is especially difficult to find church dresses and skirts. They all seem to be sleeveless, too grown up, and short. Perhaps being in Utah will make that easier? The Children’s Place, or LandsEnd tend to be good or at least better places to find classic girl clothes in a wide variety of colors.

    I hope everything gets settled and found before she makes her debut. It sounds like you made some good headway!

  3. January 12, 2014 5:51 pm

    So fun! Shopping for little girls has always been more fun for me! I am so excited for you and you really got a lot done! Pretty much the opposite is happening here :).

    It is so hard to find nice girl clothes once they are older. I really need to help my girls in their sewing skills so we can start making some nice church clothes! So in this way boys clothes are so much easier to find!

    Happy nesting!

    Judi :)

  4. Tamaran permalink
    January 13, 2014 9:38 am

    We go Costco for all our dresses. We have a few that are sleeveless, so we have white long and short sleeved shirts to go under. Seriously, for $17 it is cheaper to buy the dress than to buy a pattern, fabric and notions (these are Easter/Christmas dresses–so fancier fabric. The less fancy fabric may be more comparable in cost but the time just isn’t worth it to me). And I try to buy most of our clothes on Black Friday as prices are amazing (and online shopping this year made it MUCH better than past years).

    I’ve kept all my clothes from Taelyn. If you end up short on clothes, you are welcome to look through them and borrow any (they are marked with my initials already as they have been passed around some–at that age, they don’t wear clothes out)–I just may need them back come summer. [We're all secretly hoping for one of each, though two of the same would be easier because then I wouldn't have to pull out and find a place to store clothes for both genders...]

  5. January 15, 2014 6:59 pm

    I adore the fabric you already owned – no wonder you had such a hard time finding anything in the store.

    Enjoy pink-ifying the house!

  6. January 16, 2014 8:05 am

    Have fun making a baby girl’s blanket. Small blankets/quilts are easier to work with, and sewing/quilting can be rewarding.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

