Skip to content

Advent-ing

December 17, 2007

The only consistent thing we’ve done lately is our Advent activities.  We don’t have many set-in-stone Christmas traditions, but we’ve really enjoyed our Advent tree the past few years.  Grandma gave it to us and it hangs in our entryway.  Every day the boys take turns hanging a mini-ornament on it after our Advent readings.  We also count the ornaments every day, when I remember.  One day C will remember the number fifteen, but he did figure out that he can count the remaining buttons to see how many days left until Christmas which he delights in reminding us several times a day.

pc060061.jpg

 

 

I’ve searched for something we can read every day until Christmas, beyond just the Christmas storybooks.  One thing I love to do is read the book reviews in the Deseret News and then going online to place a library hold on the books that sound interesting before I forget about them.  Due to the newspaper’s suggestion, we got The Advent Storybook and we’ve been reading the short story in it each day.  It’s about a little bear following the star to Bethlehem and all the things he finds and lessons he learns along the way.  We also read scriptures and sing a Christmas hymn together every day according the schedule I found here

I’d like to write my own Advent calendar with scriptures and Christmas carols sometime.  Maybe next year, assuming I think about it before December is upon us, unlike this year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2007 5:53 pm

    Cute Advent Tree!

    The book looks really cute too. I added it to my list for next year.

    Blessings~Tina

  2. December 17, 2007 10:52 pm

    I would love a copy of your own Advent calendar when you make one! I’m sure it will be wonderful.
    Your quilted tree Advent calendar is very beautiful. My kids love to count down the days too! Hope you are doing well. Your Mesopotamia crafts were great! We did that chapter this week too. I’m wishing I had prepared everything in advance like you did though. Next year for sure. 😀

  3. December 19, 2007 10:04 am

    I have the hadest time remembering to do advent things. We can’t even keep the chocolate advent calendar up to date. I love your Christmas tree advent. Did your mother make it? I like the idea of the red buttons to hang things from. Very clever.

  4. cellista permalink*
    December 19, 2007 9:34 pm

    No, somebody else made it and gave it to her. She has so many different Christmas wall hangings that she passed it on to me. She thought my boys would have more fun with it anyway.

Leave a Reply

