Skip to content

Weekly Report #1

August 16, 2008

And so another year of weekly reporting begins. . .

We survived our first week of school.  The first day went a little crazy, but we’ve adjusted a few things and it all worked out.  Now I’m wondering how everything we still need to add in to our schedule (Five in a Row, letter of the week, Latin, music, art, writing) is going to fit.  There is room, but I’ve got to tighten up our morning routine.  I’m having a hard time adjusting out of the summer morning-sleep in-take our time with breakfast-read the comics-play on the computer-mode.  I’ve got to get myself back in the habit of focusing on schoolwork, and schoolwork only, in the mornings.  No checking email, no doing housework, no getting myself distracted by anything–I need to stay completely focused on homeschool.  If I can do that, the boys will do great, school will be great.  I set the example, and I haven’t been very good this week. 

I will admit I’m tired and I’ve been a little grumpy this week.  I feel like I’ve been going nonstop for the past two weeks with planning, then our trip, then DH’s trip and my single parent days, then we started school.  Maybe not the best choice, but that’s the way it worked out.  I did plan a four-day week this week so the boys could stay at Grandma’s yesterday while DH and I celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary.  I felt a little pressured to finish a few things that would normally fall on Friday, but all in all, I think we covered everything on my plan.

So, here’s what we did:

D: He did some cutting from his Kumon workbook and colored with us for history.  Other than that, he’s actually kept himself busy for the most part while I’ve worked with the other two.  Buying a new cd player and getting lots of books on cd at the library was a fabulous decision.  Both he and C have listened to so many books this week on their own.  Next week we’ll start doing a letter of the week. 

C: He finished his math book from the spring and is almost done with his lowercase letter tracing book.  He’s also moving right along with reading and did the first 8 pages in Explode the Code.  Next week we’ll start a new Five in a Row book.

A-Math: Started division in Singapore 2A
Grammar: Lessons 15-18
Spelling: Lesson 1
Reading: The Trumpet of the Swan
Handwriting: He started cursive and he loves it, doing a page a day.  I would prefer he do less and be a little more precise, but it’s really not bad for the first time.  Now he wants to try cursive whenever he can, so all of his other writing is a weird conglomeration of cursive and print for now.  But I’m not complaining. 

A's first cursive

A's first cursive

History: We pulled out blankets to sit on for a magic carpet ride over the Roman Empire as we read chapter 1 in SOTW.  They all colored a magic carpet figure and a barbarian, and did the mapwork.

History maps and coloring

History maps and coloring

Science: Besides talking about crickets for our Outdoor Hour Challenge, we talked about planet earth and C decided he wants to do an earth science notebook too so they both narrated and colored an Earth page.  Then we started our papier-mache’ model Earth which was a little crazy.  Everybody wanted to make one.  Thankfully D decided to just play with his balloon instead.  C got bored in the middle and wanted me to finish his, but A kept at it (with a little help from Mom) and so we have two Earths to paint next week.  And I’m wondering why I always attempt these kinds of projects when DH is not at home.  We also had an experiment to do, but C broke one of my thermometers before we even had a chance to start, so maybe next week. 

Science notebook pages

Science notebook pages

Making planet Earth

Making planet Earth

New Testament: We began our study of the New Testament this week and talked about why we study the NT, what different books are in the NT, began learning the Books of the NT song, read “Before the New Testament” in our NT Stories, and looked at pictures in DH’s Jesus Christ and the Land of the New Testament book. 
We also began The Secret Garden as a read-aloud and we finished listening to Redwall in the car, which we began on our trip to Idaho.  And that’s pretty much it, aside from errands practically every day (why, I don’t know), a library trip, the park twice, and lunch at Lamb’s on the first day.  We finally got a new charger for the camera battery so I can take 2nd week of school pictures on Monday.   
And to keep myself somewhat accountable for my own studies, I think I’ll add in my own self-education to my weekly reports.  This week I began listening to the Early Middle Ages Teaching Company course on cd and I finished my personal study of the four Gospels in the NT.  I had intended to read Beowulf, but picked up The Fellowship of the Ring instead, so Beowulf is on next week’s plan!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2008 8:56 am

    Emily just finished Beowulf for the second time a couple of days ago. I’ve never read it, lol.

    It will be fun to see what your studies are, too, in your weekly report.

  2. August 17, 2008 6:15 pm

    Happy Anniversary!

    I would have picked up Fellowship of the ring instead, too! Thanks for sharing you weeks, looks like you had fun.

  3. August 19, 2008 11:21 am

    looks like a great week! we are gearing up for our first week. i have lots to do before we start. yikes.

  4. Gina permalink
    August 22, 2008 6:02 pm

    What a great week! I love your planet Earth! Sounds like you all had lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

