Skip to content

Weekly Report 2

August 23, 2008

I’m trying to figure out the format that works best here, by child or by subject.  (I also need to be less wordy.)  They have individual work, and they do things together.  My main concern is just remembering everything we did this week.  It turned out to be really busy, outside the house.  I need to try a lot harder to get outside things done all on one day if possible because this schedule is killing me!  Monday we went to the library and the park, Tuesday we went grocery shopping, Wednesday we went to Grandma’s for cello lessons, Thursday DH called at 11 a.m. to say the family picnic at work was at noon, and Friday was homeschool park day.  We also went to a baby blessing, a wedding reception, Walmart, and the farmer’s market.  And somewhere in there we did some actual schoolwork: 

D: He began learning his “alphabet numbers” as he calls them, starting with A.  He traced and colored A words and we read Alligator Alphabet together.  And that was pretty much it.  I can tell already that he won’t get nearly the amount of attention and activities for Letter of the Week as A did, but I suppose that’s how it goes when you’re the third kid.  He picks up a lot of random information from his brothers’ studies and we try to include him where we can so I’m not too worried.

C: His biggest accomplishment was finishing off his lowercase letters tracing book!  Now he can move into actual copywork.  We filled out his certificate and hung it on the wall.

FIAR: This is for C, but the other two just can’t help getting involved.  We love FIAR around here.  We started The Salamander Room this week and besides learning about salamanders, counted all the creatures in the book for math.  We’ll finish this up next week.  We kept forgetting to do it this week. 

Math: C practiced writing the numbers 1-5.  A did lessons 57, 58, and a review page. 
Grammar: Since this is a review for A, we’ve decided to do two lessons out of every three so he got through lesson 22 this week.  Spelling was lesson 2. 
Reading: C did a reading lesson every day starting on consonant blends.  We listened to Stone Fox by John Gardiner and The Van Gogh Cafe by Cynthia Rylant in the car.  We like all of her books.  Stone Fox was highly enjoyable too, about a boy and his dog who enter a dogsled race to try and save his grandfather’s farm.  Highly recommended!   A is still reading Trumpet of the Swan and we’re still reading aloud The Secret Garden.  I seem to be incredibly slow at read-alouds.

Latin: We kind of sort of reviewed lesson 2 which we first studied clear last spring.  
History: We read SOTW chapter 2 on the early days of Britain and did the mapwork.  We also read Celtic Memories, a book of Celtic legends, and a picture book version of Beowulf, and we watched a video about the history of the Middle Ages.  It’s a fun series and I have another one on “The Monk” for next week.

Science: We had a lot of science this week.  We went on a nature hike scavenger hunt for our Outdoor Hour Challenge.  We learned about salamanders for FIAR, and we talked about the earth, moon, and solar system for earth science.  I just love the Let’s Read and Find Out Science series so we read You’re Aboard Spaceship Earth and also read Seymour Simon’s Earth.  He is one of our favorite science authors and the black and white photos of the earth were spectacular.  We also watched a Schlessinger Science Video All About the Earth. 

We attempted our science experiment with thermometers from last week, but I think I had a defective one.  It went to 109 degrees and stayed there.  But we had great success with the “Wobbler” experiment where we spun 2 eggs–one hard-boiled, one raw–to explain how the earth’s composition affects its motion.  The egg that was solid inside spun easier and longer than the one that wasn’t. 

And in what also counts for art, we finished painting our papier-mache earths.  I got the fun job of drawing all the continents on.  It’s harder than it looks, but I didn’t actually do too bad.  And falling under the heading “It’s my planet and I can do what I want” was C’s wish to paint icebergs, including a rather large one off the coast of Morocco. 

And we got so much blue paint everywhere, it almost counted as dressing up as Celts in battle paint.  Almost.

And for the “Weird Connection of the Week”:  We learned about one kind of salamander that grows up to 5 feet long, and A remarked excitedly, “That’s the same as how tall the Mayflower was inside!”  Yes, yes it is. 

For myself, I’ve just been trying to keep up with everybody else this week, although I did manage to listen to three more lectures on the Early Middle Ages.  While I exercised.  What fun!  I’m actually looking forward to reading the real Beowulf now that I’ve read the picture book version.  Although if next week gets as busy as this week, I may just count that version for myself. 

And in the New Testament, we had so many great discussions this week.  We’ve just about learned all the books of the New Testament if we can just get through “Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians.”  That’s the line that throws us.  We read through Matthew 1 and 2, and the first two chapters of Luke and learned who Matthew and Luke were.  We talked about how both the wise men and Joseph followed God’s counsel to keep baby Jesus safe from King Herod, and how we should listen and give the same heed to counsel in our own lives.  And we had a good discussion about Luke 1:37 For with God nothing is impossible.  That was one I needed to hear this week.   

Good things are happening here.  Major goals for next week are 1) Go to bed earlier (me especially) and 2) Figure out some strategies for getting the house clean (cleaner anyway) alongside our other work.  There’s always something to tweak!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2008 11:42 pm

    the housework on school days is always a struggle for me.
    looks like a great week. i’m very impressed with their globes (you used c’s full name there–might want to edit that out.)
    and read alouds take me forever, too. probably because they aren’t the only books i read every day to my kids.

  2. August 24, 2008 6:57 am

    Despite being “crazy busy” you did a ton of stuff. I like to hear about schools just liked you did it. It’s not overly detailed and yet I think I got a clear picture of what you did. 🙂

  3. August 24, 2008 8:24 am

    Your globes are great! I love the blue war paint thought.

    Salamander Room was one of our favorite FIAR books. We actually saw salamanders on a hike a few weeks after and the kids knew exactly what they were since we had just studied them.

    It does sound like a very busy week! Good luck with the next.

  4. August 24, 2008 9:29 am

    I love reading your weekly reports! So much so, that I am going to borrow your idea (if you don’t mind!) and add a weekly homeschool report to my blog as well. 🙂

  5. August 24, 2008 2:21 pm

    Love the kids’ model earths. They look great! We’ve also followed your lead and added a weekly report to our blog. Thank you for the inspiration! 😀

  6. August 24, 2008 4:32 pm

    I see lots of great books! The earths look great!

    Michele

  7. August 24, 2008 5:07 pm

    What busy week! I love the globes! Paper Mache is so fun. I think the blue paint is an excellent idea!! I wish I would have thought of it. Thanks for sharing Luke 1:37 too. I needed that reminder.

    And house work? My suggestion is elves. That’s what I’m counting on anyway. 😉

  8. August 24, 2008 7:18 pm

    Paper mache is one of our favorite things to do around here. Their planets turned out great, even the icebergs! Sounds like you have been busy but learning. Makes me excited for our school to start in one more week.

  9. August 25, 2008 10:04 am

    Great week! I can’t decide if your blog is inspiring or depressing – just depends on my frame of mind, I guess 🙂 I love your wordiness. I also like how you are including what you are doing on your own. That’s nice to read about – and its a good idea to keep track of your work as well as your kids’.

  10. August 25, 2008 11:02 am

    I love the paper mache globes. My 6 year old is very much obsessed with our talking globe right now and he would love it!

  11. August 25, 2008 1:27 pm

    i have to sigh yet again when i look at your homeschooling. and wonder if i will ever be that good! besides, looking at your resources, i wish our library was bigger. i think we may have a challenge in that area. but we will see when we get home and actually get going. i can’t wait…though i am still scared. but i know i can always call on you for help & advise. THANKS K!!!! good luck with this school year! you are amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

