Skip to content

Outdoor Hour Challenge #28

September 5, 2008

Outdoor Hour Challenge #28: Dragonflies and Damselflies

In our last week focusing on insects, we were supposed to look for dragonflies or damselflies.  We actually saw two.  Very briefly.  Not long to really study at all, but we did see some. 

On Wednesday at a playground near Grandma’s house, we also came way too close (for my comfort) to a wasp nest.  But it was fun to watch the wasps crawl around the paper-thin walls, after we got a safe distance away.  I wish I had taken my camera.  The boys were also being very observant and found quite a few water striders in the small stream nearby.  They were fascinated by them and we need to read more about them, but our Handbook of Nature Study  doesn’t have much to say on the subject.  

On Thursday we went hiking in Memory Grove again and saw another dragonfly.  We also found a really great spiderweb on a tree.

 

Sumac, with the pretty red fruit clusters that stay through the winter:

Sunflowers:

The boys drew in their nature journals.

C drew the lake in Memory Grove, I helped D do a leaf rubbing, and A did a leaf (calling it unknown!) and drew what I call snake grass.  I have no idea what it’s really called, but I always find it growing next to streams and rivers in the canyons.  You can pull the sections apart.  Anybody out there know what it is?

This weekend’s goal is to tally up all the pages we’ve done so far for the nature journal challenge as they are scattered between our old notebooks, our sketch journals pictured here, and loose papers sitting in the pile with the rest of the last four weeks’ worth of school work on my desk.  We bought new notebooks for this year and I still haven’t labelled them and filled them with subject dividers yet.  Tomorrow is a major clean up the house day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    September 6, 2008 11:06 am

    I love reading your outdoor challenges! You’ve done a great job with them. We’re hoping to start those sometime this year.

  2. September 6, 2008 10:23 pm

    You saw two! I have been keenly looking as I go about our daily life and we saw a damselfly today and a beautiful dragonfly on Thursday at my dad’s.

    I know if I hadn’t been keeping my eyes open that we wouldn’t have even noticed them.

    As always, great nature study and I love the photos of your boys journaling. 🙂

    Great job,
    Barb-Harmony Art Mom

Leave a Reply

