Skip to content

This is why I use pencil

September 8, 2008

We were kind of sort of planning on a short vacation next weekend.  Then A told me there’s a Primary activity that Saturday he really really wants to go to.  Then DH told me he has mandatory training one of the days we’d be gone.  So here I am with an eraser redoing the master schedule for the next six weeks or so.  At least I’m happy to note that we’ve actually followed what I had planned so far, except we got a little behind on FIAR and one Latin lesson with the short week last week.  And I found a few mistakes like ending a month in the middle of one week, and double scheduling the same week on the next month’s page.  I think it’s all worked out through Christmas now, but who knows. 

Miraculously between my schedule and DH’s work schedule, we found a few available free days in October, so we may still pull off this trip after all. 

Now back to the erasing.

****************************************

Oh, and I made some good internet finds over the weekend, for everyone I know that’s using Story of the World  (SOTW) for history.  (I love how I find things when I’m searching for something utterly unrelated.)  After my literature post last week on how I’m searching for good literature, I found lists coordinating (more or less) Sonlight and Ambleside Online readers with the WTM 4-year history rotation.  

There was another Ambleside/WTM literature list, but that blog has sadly disappeared.  I think I have it printed off though.  And yes, one of my goals is to organize my own homeschool binder soon so hopefully I will find it (and who knows what other treasures.)

I also found some workbooks to print out for SOTW vol. 1 and 2

And many more coordinated lists for just about everything at Paula’s Archives, one of those wonderful homeschool sites like Homeschoolshare.com that I forget to use even though they’re packed full of wonderful ideas from other homeschoolers.  Which reminds me, I have a new idea of my own at the moment.  I’ll work on it and see what happens. . .

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2008 6:17 am

    Thanks for the wonderful links. I love good finds 🙂

  2. September 11, 2008 1:34 pm

    ditto that! i’m excited about those links. and yes, pencil is the only way to go. with a big, pink eraser.

  3. September 11, 2008 7:03 pm

    ROFLOL!!!! Not at you! But that I just did the whole eraser thing, too. We started a week earlier than I had planned (and I had the year planned through December). No big deal, I thought, I’ll just be a week ahead. Then I realized I’d worked in holidays, festivals, and activities that surrounded them. Big mess. Lots of pencils in my home no longer have erasers. Like you, I’m glad I didn’t use pen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

