Skip to content

Weekly Report #5

September 13, 2008

Have we finished five weeks of school already?  We really have!  It feels good to have that many days behind us already now that our lives are starting to get busier with outside commitments.  C and D started their Kindermusik classes this week and I should have gone to orchestra, but I’ve had just miserable hay fever most of the week and decided to skip it and went to bed super early that night instead.  This week has kind of passed by in a haze, for me anyway, but thankfully we did a lot of work on Monday before I starting feeling down, and somehow they did just about everything else I had planned for them.

The letter of the week was D, which of course D loved, because it’s “my letter” and D is also for Daddy and ducks and dinosaurs and dogs, and “I know, maybe we could go get another dog this week, Mom!”  We didn’t.  But we did get donuts for breakfast this morning, which was maybe just as exciting.

We put together the dinosaur puzzle.

And we counted out dimes, figured out how many are in a dozen, and read several D books. 

D has finally caught on to the fact that all words start with a letter/sound and is constantly asking me questions (although a little backwards) like “What does fish stand for?” and “What letter does train stand for?”  I think he’ll have all 26 letter sounds figured out long before we get to Z as our letter of the week. 

FIAR: We finished up The Bee Tree this week and also read In Enzo’s Splendid Gardens about the hilarious chain reaction caused by one bee.  We also learned about bees and honey production and read Honey in a Hive.  C found Michigan and the Yukon Territory on a map for social studies, learned about hexagons for math, and we talked about onomatopoeia or the use of words that sound like what they are describing in literature. 

C also did pages 28-36 in Explode the Code, learned about one more than and one less than a given number in math, counted by 10s as we counted dimes with D, and did reading lessons 48, 49, and part of 50 where I wrote out the words on the white board one letter at a time so he wouldn’t skip sounding out any of them.

A: Math: Lessons 1-3 and practice 1A in his new math book, as well as a daily math fact sheet (timed) from the Superkids math worksheet site
Grammar: lessons 28-33 
Cursive: 2 letter E sheets 
Writing: Still waiting for our workbook to come. . .
Latin: lesson 4 and I’d really like to know where our practice cd has disappeared to

Literature: I honestly don’t know if A has read anything of substance this week and I haven’t had much of a voice to read out loud for too long.  We did listen to Charlie and the Chocolate Factory in the car.  Then we watched the movie last night.  And if there was ever a time I wished I owned a videocamera, it was then as DH and I and the boys attempted to learn the Oompa-lumpa dances along with the dvd instruction.  We’ll count that for P.E. this week. 

Music: We listened to one Classics for Kids radio show on Mussorgsky and colored a picture of him.  C and D both started Kindermusik this week and A continues his piano lessons with Poppa.

Science: We did the outdoor hour challenge on sunflowers and learned about weather in our Usborne Encyclopedia.  We did notebook pages on wind and snow, an experiment on why snowflakes float, read Flash, Crash, Rumble, and Roll and Tornado Alert, and watched a video about wind and clouds.  A also makes vocabulary cards for earth science each week.  We’re also checking our rain gauge which despite a storm this week, hasn’t collected any rain water.

History: I love Story of the World but we won’t be following it in strict chronological order.  I didn’t want to do one week on India now and one week later on, so we skipped chapter 5 and went on to chapter 6 on the rise of Islam instead.  We read a biography of Muhammad by Demi, a book on Ramadan, and I am Muslim and again discussed both similarities and differences between our religions.  The boys also did mapwork, colored a bedouin on a camel, and made a Five Pillars of Islam notebook page.   

SOTW 6 books

C's work

A's work

D's work

New Testament: We read and discussed the Sermon on the Mount and Matthew 8 and 9.  A often wants to do the reading himself, and he and I are having great discussions although we lose the other two at times when reading from the Bible itself.  I try to read the corresponding stories in New Testament Stories each week with them as well as hang up all the appropriate Gospel Art Kit pictures where we can see them all week long.  I love to find C and D looking through the New Testament Stories together on their own.  I love that my children have a love for the scriptures and the stories.

As for my own studies, they kind of fell by the wayside this week although I have been keeping up with my New Testament scripture study, and I did listen to one more High Middle Ages lecture while driving home from Grandma’s house.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2008 5:11 pm

    Looks like a great week despite the allergies!

  2. September 13, 2008 9:37 pm

    Sorry about the hey fever. Not fun. It sounds like you were busy even if you were foggy.

  3. September 14, 2008 1:56 pm

    Looks like you guys got lots done even though you weren’t feeling well!

    The SOTW books are fabulous.

    Which version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory did you watch? The Johnny Depp one? Curious….. I thought I was gonna die laughing when I saw it. My hubby and kids loved it as well. Seems like you either love it or hate it. lol

  4. September 14, 2008 6:42 pm

    We need to discuss the adult “high middle ages”… I am studying that a little on the side! I can’t believe you are on week 6 now- we are on 3. We will be in school until July at this rate!

  5. September 19, 2008 11:38 am

    sounds wonderful. i love the idea of hanging up the gospel art pictures each week that correspond with your study. it is really sweet to see your kids develop a love for the scriptures. it makes me feel like i’m doing something right!:)

Leave a Reply

