Skip to content

Random Thursday Thoughts

September 25, 2008

We have a concert on Saturday.  We have a concert on Saturday!!!  How did that creep up on me?  I’ve only been to three rehearsals.  Of course there have only been four, I missed one, and we have dress rehearsal tomorrow night, but still. . .Can we pull this off?  And why did I leave most of my practicing for this week?

My stand partner (who’s new) asked me if the concert hall has cello chairs.  He feels like he’s sitting on kindergarten chairs at rehearsal.  They are uncomfortable, and a little on the short side.  But then I’m only 5’4″ and he’s quite a bit taller than that.  So thankfully there are cello chairs for the concert.  (Although personally I don’t really like them.)

Our opening concert every season always highlights a Utah composer, so Crawford Gates came to our rehearsal Tuesday night.  We’re playing his Ballad of the Prairie State (even though we’re in the Beehive state.)  He apologized profusely for our parts having mistakes in them, but was so complimentary of our playing and was so grateful that we were playing his piece.  He also commented on how wonderful it is to be in a symphony orchestra and be able to play great music together.  I agree. 

We also got an article in both Sunday newspapers.  How nice.  How rare.  Publicity is not our strong suit, or else there are just so many arts events in this valley that we have to compete with for an audience.  Or both.  It is so nice to have an audience though after expending all that time and effort in preparing a concert.

Our conductor sent an email after Tuesday’s rehearsal with performance notes.  We’re playing with too much angst.  “This is Tschaikovsky’s c-minor symphony, not Beethoven’s c-minor.”  (Which we played last April and apparently are still channeling the angst from.)

So enough about cello. . .

We have a plethora of fruit around here.  I bought a box of apples yesterday, my mom gave me half a box of peaches.  I came home and noticed the pears I bought at the grocery store and remembered we still have half a watermelon in the fridge.  Oh, and grapes.  So today we had pear for lunch, apple for an afternoon snack, watermelon with dinner, and I just ate a peach.  Getting my daily requirement of fruit should be no problem for awhile.

Going to the park this afternoon for almost 2 hours probably wasn’t the best idea.  My eyes are itchy now but I did read 40 pages in LOTR: The Two Towers.  That’s the most uninterrupted reading time I’ve had in days. 

I took C to a doctor’s appointment Monday morning and told A he could do math, grammar, and cursive with DH while I was gone.  He thought about it and said, “I’m not sure that’s a good idea.  Daddy’s not very good at math.”  After I quit laughing (DH really isn’t as math-minded as I am) I assured him he would be fine with 2nd-grade addition. 

He can get me too though–I was looking at myself in the mirror and wondering aloud what I should do with my hair on a particular day.  A piped up from behind me, “Maybe you should curl it because it really doesn’t look that great from back here.”  Ahh, the honesty of children.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamaran permalink
    September 26, 2008 8:35 am

    A is so cute! Yes, children are honest…sometimes too honest. When I was pregnant (very pregnant) my 4 year old nephew told me I was fat. When his mom explained there was a baby in my tummy he asked if we could open my belly button and look at the baby.
    As far as DH and math, Jon is afflicted with the same disease. When it comes to our children, I’ll help with the math and science. Jon will do the history and english. I sure appreciate how well we compliment each other.

  2. September 26, 2008 10:00 am

    A’s comments sure got me laughing. Out of the mouths of babes…

    Wish I could go to your concert! Good luck!

  3. September 26, 2008 5:49 pm

    Good luck at the concert. I never seem to get in any practice until the week of a concert either. Somehow deadlines are a big motivation.

    All that fruit does sound nice. YUM!

Leave a Reply

