Skip to content

Outdoor Hour Challenge 30 and 31

September 27, 2008

Well, now that my camera and computer have decided to talk to each other again. . .

We didn’t really do the weeds and seeds challenge last week because I had no desire to be out among the weeds and the accompanying pollen any more than was absolutely necessary, so we decided to continue observing our sunflowers which finally decided to bloom.  It’s been fun to see the changes on a daily basis as we’ve gone out to get in the car.  D’s just barely bloomed this past week while A’s is beginning to lose all the yellow and we can already see the seeds developing that we’ll collect to hopefully plant next year.  Our neighbor also shared some hollyhock seeds from his garden with us.

They sketched their sunflowers one day for their nature journals (I helped D with his flower) and one day while we were out, we saw a bumblebee on C’s just loaded with pollen. 

Our sunflowers in various stages, I think the pattern of the inside florets is just amazing:

 

This week’s challenge was to begin a tree study.  We actually did a focus study on trees back in the spring, but still are thrilled to study them again.  I just love trees.  I knew there was a ginkgo tree at my old high school, but couldn’t find it last spring when we were looking for leaves.  I located it on Labor Day while sitting at a parade in the pouring rain and seeing a ginkgo leaf go swirling down Main Street.  So we went to collect some leaves on Wednesday.  There was no place to park though, due to soccer and baseball games so I just pulled the van over and hurriedly picked some leaves for the boys to press.  We did rubbings when we got back home and C even wrote ginkgo all by himself! (Of course he left out the K, but still!)

We also went on a hike up the canyon and I had high hopes of getting some great photos of the fall colors only to find out I left the camera’s memory card at home.  So no pictures, but we pointed out all the things we experienced with our senses along the way.

  • We heard the rushing river, a bird, and a buzzing insect.
  • We saw the river, the leaves, a butterfly, some wild turkeys, and rocks.
  • We touched rocks, dirt, and leaves on the ground.
  • We smelled the river, pine trees, and the general fresh crisp smell of fall!

We collected some maple leaves and everyone did a journal page of their experience.

I am so looking forward to getting outside more in the fall weather!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2008 5:12 pm

    I love your beautiful leaves in your journals.

    You can’t help but study seeds if you are looking at your sunflowers….I was amazed after dissecting a bloom to see just how they develop. I actually had never done that before….fascinating.

    Your outing sounds wonderful. Nothing like the sound of a rushing river. 🙂

    Thanks for the link,
    Barb-Harmony Art Mom

  2. hjdong permalink
    September 28, 2008 10:13 am

    Oh, I’m jealous that sounds like a great outing. I’m in SoCal, where it’s still hot, hot hot.

  3. September 28, 2008 7:06 pm

    Wonderful! We haven’t done the sunflowers challenge yet… I keep meaning to but it involves getting permission from a neighbor. We’ll have to plant our own for next year.

    I love the boys’ notebooks! Great job, Mom! 😀

  4. September 30, 2008 3:55 am

    This would not be difficult for me, since various parts of my yard are very weedy and seedy- I am taking my kids up to my pathetic garden tonight, and explaining that if they want to be eating next year- then we have to do something about it! Your journals are so darling! Thanks for stopping by the blog- I am always thrilled to see comments from you!

Leave a Reply

