Skip to content

Another Saturday gone

September 28, 2008

Where did it go?  

I had so much on my to-do list for yesterday.  I’ve had so much on my to-do list for the last several weekends and I have yet to tackle most of it.  Yesterday I had too much nervous energy.  I’m like that every single time I have a concert, even if I’m not really nervous for the concert, I just can’t seem to settle down and focus that energy on anything productive.  Yesterday was no different.  I honestly don’t know where the day went.

Finally at 4:00, I had to calm myself down and say (yes I talk to myself.  Frequently.) “OK, you’ve got 3 hours until you need to be at the concert.  You still need to practice those few little annoying spots you flubbed at rehearsal last night, you promised the boys they could go dig in the dirt, then of course they’ll need a bath, you still need to shower (and do makeup, hair, the whole bit), dinner’s always a good idea, and then everybody needs to get dressed and in the car ready to go.  And don’t forget the cello.  Or the music.”  I knew I could make it work if nothing untoward happened.  It did, the toilet overflowed.  But as always, I work really well under pressure, they had their bath, I got my shower, and everything got accomplished and we made it there on time.  (And my bathroom floor is really clean now.)

The concert actually started late, we had to deal with horrendous parking issues due to the Utah/Weber State football game last night and there is no nearby parking anyway for our concert hall on campus.  That’s when I’m happy DH dropped me off and got to deal with parking by himself and I didn’t have to worry about one more thing, especially since I had to give up a chance to hear the General Relief Society Meeting in the conference center with my ward to play this concert in the first place.

The boys listened to the first half of the concert but were pretty wiggly (probably because they were up late Friday night and I didn’t let them play outside nearly long enough due to my own flightiness.)  DH came down at intermission and said there was no way D would sit through the Tschaikovsky symphony, so he was taking them home.  A wanted to stay though, so he sat all alone on the front row in front of the cello section (although I was unaware of this until the end) and listened to the second half.  What 7-year-old do  you know that would rather sit through a classical music concert than go home and play with his brothers while waiting for Mommy to finish playing??

But the concert went really well, I played well, the audience was very appreciative, and now I’m really glad it’s over.  I’m always exhausted after playing, even if it’s not a particularly grueling program.  I intend to spend tomorrow afternoon on the couch with a book relaxing.  Except that I have an entire to-do list to tackle.  I need another weekend!  I wish concerts were on Fridays so I’d have the Saturday after to get my cleaning, planning, organizing, and all the other little tasks I seem to save up for the weekend, done.  This is the third Saturday night in a row that I’ve been gone. 

So we’re going into this week thoroughly unprepared, and I still need to write up last week’s accomplishments (or lack thereof.)  So much to do. . . like go make dinner again.  It’s neverending.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2008 6:59 pm

    Congratulations on a successful concert!

    Last night, I was fortunate to be able to see the Anchorage Symphony Orchestra play a night of ‘Russian Fantasy’ – no Tchaikovsky, though. The best part for me was watching Wendy Warner playing Prokofiev’s “Sinfonia Concertante”. Even though I sat in the nosebleed section, I was able to enjoy her amazing mastery of the cello with my binoculars.

    I want to let you know how much I appreciate that you do find a way, in spite of your busy family schedule, to play your cello for others.

  2. October 1, 2008 3:31 pm

    i feel like my saturdays go much, much too quickly. and i don’t even perform in an orchestra on a weekly basis.

    i am so impressed with your boys and their ability to listen to and enjoy your orchestra while sitting still?! wow.

Leave a Reply

