Skip to content

The Greatest Show on Earth

September 30, 2008
tags:

The highlight of last week was going to the circus with Grandma and Poppa.  I honestly think that’s the first time I’ve ever really been to the circus!  (I vaguely remember going to a very small travelling circus that came through town once and my brothers and sisters got free tickets so we went and it was actually in a bigtop.  But Ringling Bros. it was not.)

We went early and were able to see all the animals outside before the show.  Then they had a preshow down on the floor of the Delta Center, excuse me, the Energy Solutions Arena.  (I like the old name better.)  That was a lot of fun.  A really loved the clowns.  He’s really developing a good sense of humor and was laughing so delightfully.  I love his laugh. 

We saw contortionists and acrobats.

The boys all got a chance to check out the motorcycles.

We briefly saw an elephant paint a picture, although by that time there were way too many people down on the floor.  The theme was “Over the Top.”  And it really was over the top.  They boys were glued to the show with looks of wonder and excitement.  The clowns were A’s favorites, C liked the elephants, and D of course loved the tigers.  We were all thrilled by the 7, yes 7, motorcycles roaring in the round metal cage, and the amazing trapeze artists.  I was pretty glued to the show as well, or I would have taken a lot more pictures!  Here’s a few of our favorites.  It was a great afternoon.  Thanks Mom and Dad!

(C really did have a great time, despite his look here.)

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2008 2:24 am

    I used to go every Easter growing up. That is when it would come to NYC. We got to wear our Easter outfits at mass and then head to the circus. It has been years since I have gone. I am glad you and your family had a good time.

    Patricia in WA
    Happy WW!

  2. October 1, 2008 4:08 am

    Wow! I cannot remember the last time I went to a circus! I need to take my girls. Those pictures are great!

  3. October 1, 2008 5:48 am

    We’ve never been to a circus-I’m sure my kids would love it. Looks like you had a great time. Thank you for sharing!!

  4. October 1, 2008 6:13 am

    Thanks for sharing. Those are neat pictures! We’ve never been to a circus before. Looks fun!

  5. October 1, 2008 6:27 am

    Looks like you guys had so much fun. As always, I love seeing the smiles on your boys’ faces. Too cute!

  6. October 1, 2008 7:16 am

    Great photos! The circus is such a blast.

  7. October 1, 2008 7:34 am

    Looks like great fun! I’ve never seen so many tigers together!

  8. October 1, 2008 7:46 am

    Looks like so much fun! I love to see contortionists.

  9. Mom permalink
    October 1, 2008 8:08 am

    You’re welcome. You took some really great pictures. It was good to remember how it really was. I think your dad did it as much for himself as for the rest of us. He has been asking for years if we could go.

  10. October 1, 2008 10:20 am

    I have never been to a circus. It looks like so much fun. We are going to have to bring the girls. Great pictures!

  11. October 1, 2008 1:02 pm

    Wow, that circus really puts the ones in the UK to shame. We no longer have animals in circuses and the only half-way-good ones have to come from China or Russia.
    Thank you for showing us these amazing pictures!

  12. Chucki the Parrothead permalink
    October 1, 2008 1:23 pm

    Great photos.

  13. pullacreep permalink
    October 1, 2008 1:26 pm

    Your story was great! for more pictures of the circus please check out the photo section of my website: http://www.billpayne.wordpress.com

    Regards,

    Bill Payne

  14. October 1, 2008 1:34 pm

    I loved going as a child- it is in our town this week. Maybe I will just have to run out and get tickets!

  15. October 1, 2008 5:08 pm

    I love the elephant pictures.

  16. October 1, 2008 5:15 pm

    How fun! I didn’t even realize the circus was here in town. I would have loved to take the boys to see it. Maybe next year…

  17. October 3, 2008 7:59 pm

    Oh! Looks like so much fun. We will definitely go next time. I LOVE the colorful pictures.

  18. October 5, 2008 11:50 am

    Those pictures were great and it looks like you all had a wonderful time. It’s been a long long time since I took Natalie to the Circus. Maybe someday the kids will be here when the Circus is in town or I’ll be there when it is.

Leave a Reply

