Skip to content

Can I have a do-over?

October 2, 2008

I’d like this day back to do over again.  I’ve been dragging along all day.  This entire week hasn’t been much better.  I should just turn this into a weekly report, although I think tomorrow will go better and we may actually accomplish something to report on!  I don’t know what our problem is this week.  Although this might have something to do with it:

  • I had a couple late(r) night practice sessions last week.
  • Friday night: I had dress rehearsal while DH and boys had movie night.  They went to bed at 10:45 p.m. and I went to bed even later.
  • Saturday night: I played a symphony concert after being home the entire day by myself without DH.
  • After concert ice cream run, boys now have sugar high and crashed around 10:45 again.
  • 11:30 p.m. DH remembered he has to work from midnight to 6 a.m.
  • Sunday morning, nobody, and I mean nobody, wanted to get up but amazingly enough we made it to 9 a.m. church. 
  • DH went from work to bishopric meeting, then came home and crashed for 3 1/2 hours.
  • DH went back to work from 6 p.m. to midnight.
  • I stayed up and waited for him, after finally getting the boys to bed after finishing off the ice cream after dinner and having giggling fits.
  • Monday: Very slow start to school in the morning after everybodyslept in, lunch, library, park, dinner, FHE, normal bedtime (Hallelujah!)
  • Tuesday: School, lunch, attended a wedding, took C to Kindermusik, dinner (from KFC–long story there), orchestra rehearsal, I got home at 10 p.m.
  • Wednesday: School, went to Grandma’s, lunch, taught 2 cello students, A’s piano lesson, went hiking (which was wonderful), dinner, rushed back to SLC for Relief Society presidency meeting, then I waited up for DH who didn’t get home until 11:30 (bad idea)
  • Thursday: School, lunch, took D to Kindermusik, one cello student, spent hour at the aviary (It’s the free day today, so of course we have to go Mom!), second cello student (these are 60 min. lessons), dinner, DH had meeting. . .

And when I say we had “school” every morning, I mean that in the loosest way possible.   A’s been trying to see how long it can really take to write 25 Latin review words.  (About 2 hours over 2 days.)  We’ve been moving at glacial speed all around this week.  I’m dragging, the kids are dragging.  My allergies are still bothering me.  I need sleep.  I need exercise.  I need a break!  I am worn out.

But the planets have aligned!  We are going on vacation next week!  Just for three days, but I’ve never felt like I needed it more!

And now I need a really good eraser, because I have to attack my master school plans again.  I’ve had a vacation pencilled in on the calendar, it just keeps roaming and I just keep planning around it.  Rearranging units around it shouldn’t be too hard.  But the last two weeks’ planning pages are filled with arrows moving activities from one day to the next and on again to the next, and even into the next week.  It’s a mess.  Whenever I’m super busy like this, I just can’t seem to sit down and concentrate on our schoolwork.  I’ve got to figure out how to focus my energy better because I know this won’t be the last week that will be busy for us.  I think I’m out of practice after our fairly low-stress summer.  Of course that’s why we started school so early in the summer.  We had three weeks with virtually no outside the house commitments.  It was wonderful!

Amazingly enough though, we’re caught up on math and reading and our FIAR unit which we can probably finish tomorrow.  Next week will now be short, so I think I’ll concentrate on getting us completely caught up on history, science, and Latin, as well as finally getting 7 weeks’ worth of school “stuff” organized into binders so it will be off my desk!  My desk is a mess, and maybe that’s why I can’t think straight or even act semi-organized this week.  I also need to plan ahead for the next four or five weeks.  I’m at the end of my original detailed plans.

I’m just really glad October is here.  I love October!  I love the change in the seasons.  It’s not looking quite so busy (knock on wood), the boys have a week off of Kindermusik coming up, our next concert isn’t until November, my birthday’s coming up, and the Guarneri String Quartet is coming to town.  Buying tickets is on my to-do list tomorrow.  It’s my birthday present to myself.  This is my last chance to hear them because they are retiring at the end of this season, so I am excited they are coming to Salt Lake City! 

And I’m really glad DH has pledged to spend the entire day with us tomorrow. 

Before he works approximately 27 hours of overtime this weekend.  What a crazy life we lead.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2008 8:00 pm

    Aaack! It WAS a crazy week! You are a trooper. I hope you have fun on your well deserved vacation. 🙂

  2. October 4, 2008 5:17 pm

    I am with you- I just recorded conference because I was too exhausted to watch it. I just really want to soak it in, but I wasn’t mentally able too. So I will be doing major Saturday session catch-up.

    Have a blast on the vacation! We too are headed up north for a couple of days!

  3. October 4, 2008 6:57 pm

    you do need a break! i’m glad that you are going to get one. just be sure to take a day or two at home, as well as the ones spent on vacation, so that you can get organized and plan out the next several weeks. i resisted the urge to leave town during our scheduled break next week because i just want to get lesson plans ready, do a deeper clean, and read my book!

Leave a Reply

