Skip to content

It’s the thing to do

October 6, 2008

While reading my friend Michal’s blog, where she is celebrating her 200th post with a virtual party and a giveaway, I thought, wow, what a great idea except I’m not a party person, I vowed never to do a giveaway (I’ve never been one to be trendy), and I dislike the idea of people leaving me comments just because they want something free, not because they really read or like my blog.  But. . .

Then I noticed I had 399 posts, so one more would make 400.  Since I have recently won both a Shakespeare book (from Makita) and some ice cream (from Liz), I thought maybe I should get into the giving spirit and pass along some of the goodness.  And since I am trying to declutter my house, this might be a great way to get rid of some of my piles of “stuff.”  No, I’m kidding!  But I actually do have two cd’s here for a giveaway, one entitled Sojourn, the other unsung, both celebrating the handcart pioneers that crossed the plains in the 1800’s, that I will send to two lucky winners.  (Cd’s are folkmusic, lots of guitar and vocals, and a teeny tiny bit of cello playing by someone I happen to know.)

In the interest of making the blog a little more interesting, here’s my list of possible blog posts that I just never get around to writing (as it feels like all I can do lately is post our nature study and our homeschool weekly review and maybe a Wordless Wednesday photo or two):

  • 888 book update and reviews
  • What’s working, what’s not (in the homeschool realm, and this will be written soon whether anyone cares or not)
  • Our school binders
  • The Accidental Garden
  • Maple Lake hiking photos
  • The food storage that came with my house
  • Our new and improved chore chart system (what works for us anyway)
  • The chin-cello
  • It’s all about the clothes (Regency dresses)
  • Stringvision Bowgrip review

Leave me a comment and let me know what you’d like to read (or suggest your own topic you’d like to see me write about since the above list doesn’t look all that interesting to me now that I’ve typed it out.)  Or take the chance to come out of lurking and just tell me why you’re here reading my blog in the first place.  I’d love to get to know you, so satisfy my curiosity, and I’ll enter your name and let the boys pick a few winners.  Oh, and I suppose I need a deadline.  Since I’ll be trying to survive internet-free half of this week, you have until Saturday, Oct. 11 at 9 p.m. MDT.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2008 4:38 pm

    It’s gotta be the chin-cello!

  2. Tamaran permalink
    October 6, 2008 5:08 pm

    Your house came with food storage? I’m super interested in your book update and reviews.

  3. October 6, 2008 7:01 pm

    food storage, chore chart, what’s working & what’s not.

    but whatever you post, i’ll read it!:)

    and congrats on doubling my posting!

  4. October 6, 2008 8:02 pm

    Wow, 400 posts is a great accomplishment! I want to hear about the Regency Dresses. Sounds very intriguing.

  5. October 6, 2008 9:19 pm

    Well whatever you post I’m going to read. lol

    But the most intriguing to me are:
    What’s working, what’s not
    School binders
    Food storage
    Chore chart system

  6. Michelle permalink
    October 6, 2008 10:28 pm

    I’d love to read about the chore chart system that works for you–I need help in that area. I’m also really curious about the chin-cello!?!

  7. October 7, 2008 5:49 pm

    As much as I’m really dying to read your Stringvision Bowgrip review :), I’m going to vote for What’s Working and What’s Not. I’m actually interested in anything you choose to write about. The chore chart would be good, too. And I would like to know about the school binders…

    Couldn’t you find a way to creatively fit them all into the same post?

  8. October 7, 2008 6:05 pm

    I always enjoy reading your posts, what ever the topic. I think any and all would be interesting to read. I hope you cover them all eventually.

  9. October 7, 2008 10:17 pm

    Congratulations on your 400th post! You are always such an inspiration. Whatever you post about is bound to be interesting, but I am most curious about your chore charts and binder. Oh, and your book reviews…

  10. October 10, 2008 10:20 am

    Way to go- I think Ive read at least 200 of the posts! Keep writing and then bind it all up in a book and we will buy it:)

  11. October 11, 2008 8:25 am

    I love your blog!! Giveaway or no, you are one of my favorites!

    I would love to read about your food storage that came with your house. And I can wait to read about your “what works what doesn’t in homeschool” post.

    Hope you had a fantastic vacation!

Leave a Reply

