Skip to content

In their words, in my words

October 12, 2008

Where we’ve been and what we’ve been doing in their words:

A, the 7-year-old:  We drove the Mt. Nebo Scenic loop and we saw something that looked like a mini-Bryce Canyon.  We finished the loop.  Then another time we hiked the Bristlecone trail and I had fun.  It was 10,000 feet from sea level.  When we got to the top we went around another loop on the trail back to where we started and saw more bristlecones.  We saw a tree that was 3200 years old and still living.  We went to a restaurant for dinner after that and then we went to the Border Inn and stayed the night.

The next morning we went to the bakery for breakfast.  Then we went up to do the Lehman Caves in Great Basin National Park.  And we had the light turned out on us once to see if we could see our hands.  We saw shields and stalagmites and stalactites and cave popcorn and stilictites.  Then we finished the tour and then we went to Ely and got ourselves a hotel and had a snack before dinner.  Then we went to the Jailhouse for dinner and then we went back to the hotel.

The next morning we woke up to find snow on the ground.  We got breakfast and went to the train museum.  Then we had a train ride.  My favorite thing was Lehman Caves. 

C, the 5-year-old:  We were sleeping over at Grandma’s house.  We went inside Lehman Caves.  I liked it and we saw stalactites and stalagmites.  We saw some legs sticking up out of the ground at the corner and I saw a little plastic man on the road that led to the place with Lehman Caves.  (This was some of the quirky art along the road to the Park.) My favorite thing was the train ride.  We saw a haunted cemetery next to the tracks.  We saw a copper mine.  We saw the upside down mining cars on the river bank.  We changed junctions.  We slept over on a little hotel at a gas station.  Across the street was Nevada and where our hotel was, was Utah.  We slept over in a big hotel on the bottom floor in Ely.  We bought some granola bars at a store. 

D, the 3-year-old:  My favorite part was Lehman Caves and I liked going back to where the man took us in the cave.  And I liked going on the big hike.  I liked going on the train.  That’s all.

*********************************************

You’d never know they talked non-stop to Grandma and Poppa last night telling them every last little detail about what we did and saw.  I thought it would be fun to use some of it for the blog.  I was wrong.  Extracting this much information from them today was excruciating. 

**********************************************

In my words:

We had a great trip, especially for only having planned it (in detail anyway) last Monday.  DH was expecting to be busy all last week, but at the last minute his week became free so we decided we’d better take advantage of it and get out of town.  I really needed a break anyway.  We’ve been planning to go to Ely, Nevada, for months to ride the steam train with the boys.  I also wanted to hit Great Basin National Park to go hiking, and then I found out Lehman Caves are located there, and since we’re studying earth science this year, I thought it would be a good field trip for us.

Thursday: We drove the entire Mt. Nebo Scenic Loop to see the fall colors.  The quaking aspens are all turning yellow now and the canyon was just gorgeous.  I love quakies.  We stopped at the top where you can see down into Utah Valley and also at Devil’s Kitchen, a geologic feature that is kind of a mini-Bryce Canyon, that I’ve never stopped at for all the times I’ve been up there. 

Top of Payson Canyon

Top of Payson Canyon

Devil's Kitchen

Devil's Kitchen

After lunch in Nephi, we headed for Delta, then across the desert to Great Basin National Park.   

Great Basin National Park

Great Basin National Park

 

We decided to do the Bristlecone Trail hike that day.  It was the one thing I really wanted to do, but I seriously underestimated what it would take to hike 1.4 miles with children, over uneven terrain, starting up around 9700 feet above sea level, and climbing some 600 feet or so in elevation by the end.  We made it though, and it was well worth it, even though we were tired and cold by the end.  We did a short side hike over to Teresa Lake also (which was little more than a puddle this late in the year) so all in all, we hiked a little over 3 miles in about as many hours and got back to the car just as it was getting dark.

Bristlecone Pine Interpretive Site

Bristlecone Pine Interpretive Trail

Hiking in the snow

Hiking in the snow

Teresa Lake, elevation 10,230 feet

Teresa Lake, elevation 10,230 feet

And I’m really tired right now, we didn’t get home until about 11 p.m. yesterday, so the rest of the details (and the photos, I took lots!) will just have to wait until later.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2008 6:02 am

    Wow, what a great trip! I can’t believe that you have snow already. Thanks for sharing!

  2. October 13, 2008 6:09 am

    What a fabulous trip- and that snow is scaring me! What is in the west- must come east! I am so envious of all of the national parks! I enjoyed reading your children’s accounts!

  3. October 13, 2008 7:26 am

    Oh wow! What a fun trip, and fun to hear what the boys thought, too. That picture of Devil’s Kitchen is awesome. Get some rest, lady. You deserve it!

  4. October 13, 2008 7:33 am

    Oh that looks like so much fun. I also can’t believe you already have seen snow, while it’s still 90 degrees here 🙂 Hope you have a great week!

  5. October 13, 2008 7:39 am

    What a great trip. Lots of outside time!
    The boys descriptions made me giggle. You just never know what they are going to pick out as important. And some of the facts get mixed up.

    I look forward to some more pictures and stories from the trip.

  6. October 13, 2008 9:41 am

    So much fun! How was it driving the Loneliest Highway in America? Pretty desolate scenery in some parts. Glad you had a good time! Can’t wait to see more pictures.

  7. Mom permalink
    October 13, 2008 10:12 am

    Dad asked if I called yesterday for more info on your trip. Since I didn’t it was good to get filled in with the blog. The pictures are great as were the boys’ accounts. We saw on the weather that you had snow in SLC. We are still waiting for snow. Lots of love,
    Mom

  8. October 13, 2008 11:55 am

    Looks like a good trip! I have fond memories of a visit to Ely to see friends and a stop at Lehman Caves when I was about 12. I ought to take my kids.
    Oh, now I really need to go on the Nebo loop. I’ve lived in Utah valley for 11 years and never been. Love the mini Bryce Canyon. Putting that on my list of things to do now.

Leave a Reply

