Skip to content

Friday Odds and Ends

November 8, 2008

How did it get to be Friday?  Aaaahhh–it’s now Saturday!  How did it get to be Saturday???!!

That means I should be writing a weekly report, but my last post was a weekly report.  Where did the week go?  It got away from me, that’s pretty clear.  Between too much Halloween candy, the time change, the election, watching the results of the election (especially in California), we’ve all been a little off this week.  I’ve been gone for bedtime with the boys four nights in a row now, tonight will be #5 due to my orchestra concert.  Who decided we should have a concert the week of the election anyway?  I’m a news junkie, I have not been able to focus on practicing this week!

Looking at the amount of schoolwork we’ve accomplished so far this week (and yes, we’re still working here, on a Saturday!) we should have just declared a day off, or at least focused on election issues.  I was so sick of hearing about the presidential candidates though, I just didn’t want to talk about it any more.  Is it just me, or has it felt like the current campaign has been going for years?  And that they spent an obscene amount of money trying to win the Presidency?  Historic win or not, I just haven’t felt that much excitement over it all.  I’m just glad it’s over. 

I did take the boys with me, as always, to go vote and take lunch to DH who was an election judge.  Aside from the actual voting of course, the best part of the experience was watching a Westminster college student chase my boys around the lawn for me while I filled out the exit poll.  The weirdest part was playing name that tune at the senior center while casting my ballot, and finally realizing it was “Silent Night,” a very incongruous carol for that particular day in history.  Plus it was only November 4th!  Just why do we have to have Christmas music playing?

Next year we’ll cover voting and the Constitution in depth when we get into early American history.  And I am so glad.  I really feel the need to study the foundations of our country and our government and the Constitution, and learn about the Founding Fathers even more.  I am really enjoying medieval history right now though, and I really think that I’ll have a much better understanding and appreciation of the founding of this country and how it fits into world history when we finally get there.  There is really a lot to be said for studying history chronologically and I’m very glad that is what we’ve chosen to do. 

A few other random thoughts from this week:

There’s something to be said for having a landline.  We don’t, we just have cellphones.  And I lost mine on Thursday.  I thought it was probably somewhere in the car, but we’d been in and out of the car several times that day and when I finally walked in the house I thought, “Uh-oh, I don’t have my phone.”  I had no way to call anyone to see if I’d left it with them, but my cello student called my number for me, so at least it would beep for a missed call.  Sure enough, it was beeping periodically, taunting me, when we went back out to the car, but I still couldn’t find it!  I had to wait for DH to come home and dial my phone number and, in the dark I might add, he finally found it clear under a seat, (where I’m positive I looked.)

I got two more cello students on Wednesdays so I now teach for three hours straight and I can really afford to make the 120-mile roundtrip drive each week.  Now that the price of gas has gone down.

The aviary is not very exciting when it’s cold and most of the birds are inside for the winter.

The snow was exciting, but the boys were disappointed that we hadn’t raked any leaves yet.  I told them not to fear, the snow will melt, and we can still rake up the soggy leaves.  They’re happy.

And just a note to the person who probably won’t even see this because she is no longer reading my blog over a difference of opinion:  Thank you for letting me know you’ll no longer be reading my blog, even though I had to laugh because I have no idea who you even are because you’ve never ever taken the time before now to leave me a comment telling me you liked my blog or anything I had to say. 

So thank you to all who do leave comments for me.  Thank you for sticking around, even when you disagree with me (which I don’t mind a bit.)  I really enjoy the interaction.  Sometimes I’m having a bad day and a kind comment from a friend has really brightened my day.   If anything, this has made me resolve to leave more kind words for others and tell them I appreciate them for what they do, say, or write.

And now it’s back to practicing.  I still can’t play that one evil section of Sibelius at 100.  84 yes, 100 not quite yet.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2008 4:43 pm

    We had an enrichment activity on Thursday and they were playing Christmas songs in the background. I got so sick of it I casually went and turned off the CD player……and no one even noticed! I can be so sneaky sometimes. 😀

    I’m glad the election is over too. I think there should be a law about when someone can start campaigning for president.

  2. November 8, 2008 5:38 pm

    Walmart has started playing Christmas songs! I’ve been twice since they started and have decided to skip their store for the rest of the season! (I love Christmas song, but not in November!)

    You are so good to do school on Saturday!

  3. November 8, 2008 6:15 pm

    Very glad the election is over, it did seem to go on forever. I had to laugh about your kids being upset that they couldn’t rake the leaves! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  4. November 8, 2008 7:26 pm

    lol – I left my cell phone in a gas station (that was an hour from home) bathroom once and I about freaked out when I was headed home, about 30 minutes away. I did get it back, but it is really scary to lose your phone!

  5. November 8, 2008 7:27 pm

    Oh, and I do like your blog and I feel the same way about comments. Makes you feel like someone out there cares and is listening.

  6. November 8, 2008 7:36 pm

    I too feel the need to study the writings of the founding fathers. We have deviated so far from what they intended that it would be a great benefit to go through their thoughts and ideas again.
    Studying history chronologically has taught me so much and we aren’t even half way though yet. I am always amazed at how all the different stories, people and events I vaguely remember hearing about suddenly fit and everything links together so much easier. I think home schooling is mainly for me some days.

  7. November 8, 2008 11:07 pm

    Ha! Laughing pretty hard about your aviary comment. That is such a homeschool moment, to get all geared up for an educational outing, only to have it turn into kind of a dud…
    You’re great! I am always inspired by your blog. Thanks.

  8. November 8, 2008 11:54 pm

    so i love your post. i love reading all of your random thoughts. probably because that is how most of my posts sound to me, and it’s good to know that others do it too.

    i am happy elections are over…as are most people, i think.

    i heard christmas music on the radio the day after halloween! i was so sad. thanksgiving is my fave. it gets soooo overlooked!

    good luck on your concert and hope you get your playing up to speed!

  9. Tammy permalink
    November 9, 2008 7:18 am

    As always, loving your blog. 🙂

  10. November 10, 2008 9:16 am

    The election/campaigning HAS been going on for years!!

    I agree with the Christmas music. We were eating at My Thai Friday and they were playing Christmas music. It made me insane. We won’t be going back there until after Thanksgiving…when I can handle it.

    I also agree with the cell phones. We don’t have a land line either. I hate misplacing my cell. We are also having battery problems (both Jon & my phones)…that is bad too.

    I really enjoy reading your blog also. Life is so crazy and with me in the Primary now, the only way I can keep up on what is going on at your house is through your blog. I also enjoy your thoughts and opinions. Thanks for blogging!

  11. Stephanie permalink
    November 10, 2008 9:56 am

    I haven’t visited your blog in so long and don’t know why I haven’t…….I love reading about your family. You are such an amazing mom and homeschooler. Loved the knights costumes!

    Stephanie

  12. November 11, 2008 9:38 pm

    i always love reading what you have to say. i find your homeschool inspiring, your self-improvement motivating, and your words uplifting. so thanks for blogging. poor carolyn (or whatever her name was) is going to miss out on all that just because you have a different opinion on marriage. oh well.

Leave a Reply

