Skip to content

To avoid a repeat of last year…

November 26, 2008

I took action.

This spring we decided to rip out the grass in the front yard since it had pretty much died last fall anyway and we needed to dig up and repair part of the sprinkling system.  So one day while we were out there we noticed little pumpkin seeds.  I had a vague recollection of someone kicking a pumpkin off the porch last fall and by the time I thought about retrieving it and throwing it away, it was covered in snow.  So I left it there.  (Did I mention I tend to procrastinate? and that we don’t go out of our front door very often?)   In what seemed like only a few days after spotting the seeds, we had all these little pumpkin plants sprouting.  DH wanted to pull them up with the grass, but they were growing much better than anything I had planted in our actual vegetable garden in the back so I made a deal with him.  We’d let them grow and when he fixed the sprinklers and was ready to plant grass again, we’d pull them up.  In my mind, it was more of a bet–I bet I get pumpkins before I get new grass. 

I won. 

I’m still not sure what happened to the new sprinkler/grass plan, but those were some very prolific pumpkin plants.  We hardly watered them or did anything and they just kept growing and growing and growing.  A was so excited to watch the pumpkins grow and harvested them himself for our porch decorations for Halloween.  And also labelled them with everyone’s initials.  In cursive. 

pb030074

I finally threw them away yesterday.  Yes, I know Halloween is long gone.  I procrastinate.  Our two jack-o-lanterns (which were already getting moldy by Halloween as you can see) had both fallen off the porch and were lying face-down in the dirt.  On my way home from church on Sunday, I noticed that the mini-pumpkins were also getting soft and yucky.  But when I’m walking home in a dress and heels, I’m not about to pick up decaying pumpkins in my yard.  But yesterday I remembered, and off to the garbage they went.

The boys were sad, they wanted to save all the seeds to plant again next year.  I said we’d buy some seeds and maybe try for big pumpkins, although nothing I grow from a seed seems to grow this well.  So maybe we would have better luck if we just left them out there to decay away.  Who knows?

So that was my big accomplishment for the week. 

Actually we’ve been busy.  That was just at the top of the list.  We had two good days of school, finishing up letter M stuff and Pilgrim stuff for Cranberry Thanksgiving.  As soon as our Mayflower models are glued together in the morning, I’ll take pictures and post the weekly report.  It was left to me to cut them out but I tried to slice my thumb open today with the serrated bread knife.  Orchestra was really fun tonight, let me tell you.  It feels better now though.

Other things I need to do this week:

  • Make a salad for Thanksgiving
  • Make a birthday cake (also for Thanksgiving, the first of three birthdays in the next 8 days)
  • Scrub the kitchen and bathroom
  • Laundry
  • Finish the Thankful tree and post pictures

You know, I think those are the only need to-dos.  On my list of things I really ought to do or would like to make time for somewhere in there:

  • Wash the living room/music room curtains, I don’t think I’ve washed them once since I hung them. 
  • Clean out and inventory the food storage
  • Fill the buckets meant for food storage that are just sitting in my kitchen.  Empty.
  • Make some homemade pancake and muffin mix
  • File the last three weeks’ worth of school papers
  • Plan the next three weeks’ worth of school
  • Clean out my email inbox
  • Declutter, as always

What I really want to do in the next 5 days, and which is more likely to happen:

  • Read lots
  • Knit
  • Watch movies
  • Catch up on my history lectures
  • Avoid all shopping places

Whatever happens, I’m going to enjoy the rest of this week!  It’s time to take a break.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2008 5:00 am

    Thanks for sharing this, what a great story and the pumpkins look great! Don’t fell bad about just throwing them away, ours is still out there and I do use the front door everyday! Hope you have a great week and Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. November 26, 2008 7:58 am

    Isn’t it funny how things grow better when we didn’t intend or plan for them to grow? Hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  3. November 27, 2008 7:10 am

    Great pumpkin story! You sure have a busy week…I’m looking forward to your Thankful tree pictures!
    Lee

  4. November 27, 2008 7:13 pm

    I love this story- I have the same thing happening with my rasberries. They are growing in my lawn better than ever- I tried for 2 years, to get any to grow- Now I have given up they have come on strong. Reverse thinking works!

  5. November 29, 2008 12:23 am

    My pumpkins were so bad I was dry heaving as I cleaned/removed them from my porch. I’m a really good procrastinator. =)

    My to do list is so long it just makes me cry. I’m hoping to ignore any and all to do lists after December 7th.

Leave a Reply

