Skip to content

My week felt like

December 7, 2008

The pig in Toy Story was yelling, “BIRTHDAY GUESTS AT 3 O’CLOCK!” And mayhem ensued. 

I can’t believe I haven’t really written anything here in a week.  But then I’ve spent every spare moment in the past two days trying to rid this computer of a stupid virus that was taking over whenever I tried to get on the internet.  I don’t even know where to begin, so this will be quite random. 

It’s been a crazy week, full of highs and lows, happy and sad, busy-ness, craziness, tears of joy, and tears of something else.  I kind of feel like I’ve been through the wringer and there’s nothing left in me.  I’m tired.  I need a nap.  And I still have to get through next week.

I don’t know why I give parties.  I’m not a party person.  But I have a very persuasive 8-year-old and we survived the birthday guests and my house is cleaner.  There’s an upside to hosting birthday parties.  The house gets straightened up.  We finally got rid of the old dead very heavy tv that’s been sitting in the living room since September.  Thank you DH!  And because I did not do any major decluttering over Thanksgiving break, I had to resort to moving all my piles instead.  My living room is much more relaxing (just don’t look in my bedroom right now) and I’m ready to go find a Christmas tree.  It just doesn’t feel like Christmas to me quite yet.  It hasn’t snowed.  I really like snow.  So it’s snowing on my blog. 

A’s not the only one who’s been reading.  I finally finished the New Testament this week and the 473-page study guide I’ve been rereading from college.  I think those were books 40 and 41 off my 888 list.  Once again I’m wondering why I chose all the long books, but that’s a post for another day. 

I accomplished quite a few other things off my Thanksgiving break to-do list as well.  I made more bags of pancake mix for our crazy dinner nights, I filed schoolwork, I planned more schoolwork, I did some knitting, I listened to more history lectures, I finished reading The Sword in the Stone, I avoided shopping last weekend and had fun online instead and can now sit back and wait for the UPS guy to come.  I washed the curtains.  And now I know why I never do it–it’s a real pain!!  The 16-or-so-ft. long (I don’t know what they are called) drapes? that just drape across the rods are horribly wrinkled after I didn’t catch the dryer right when it stopped.  I ironed the sheers, but those things are impossible.  Maybe one day they’ll get rehung.  For now they’re wadded up in a basket getting more wrinkled.  I lost patience.

Last Sunday night, I realized November was over and I had no special plans for December.  The Christmas season kind of crept up on me.  After last Christmas I fully intended to write my own Advent plan for daily scripture readings and carols for this year.  Of course I promptly forgot until last weekend and knew I couldn’t pull together at the last minute what I had originally envisioned.  So we’re at least following someone else’s scripture/song schedule and putting little ornaments on  our Advent tree wall-hanging every day.  Maybe this year I’ll get in gear and write my own plan.

Other than that, we’ve had a really hard time getting into school work this week after taking time off for Thanksgiving and then taking a day off for A’s birthday in the middle of the week.  I’ll post a weekly report soon with the measly amount of work that we actually finished.  I have a feeling the next two weeks will be lighter as well.  And that’s ok.  I’m planning a field trip to the Cathedral of the Madeleine this week and we’re planning to see the Christmas lights on Temple Square some time.  And it’s a concert week this week.  Tuesday night is our one chance to work out the Vaughan Williams Fantasia with orchestra II sitting up in the rafters.  It should be interesting. 

And now I have to go eat.  My very dear husband just finished making me dinner.  And it will be a far cry from the pinata candy that my children subsisted on last night because they didn’t like the enchiladas, beans, and rice we had at the ward Christmas party.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2008 10:20 pm

    I hear you on the crazy weeks! I’ve had one too. And it gets crazier this next week. I had the same move the piles problem too. We had visitors coming with little notice, so we had to just move things. It bothers me to do that. I’d rather have things put away. I’m glad you did get some things done that you wanted. And it’s great that your dh will fix dinner for you. I love it when mine does that. 🙂 We need to have you over for dinner sometime. 🙂

  2. December 7, 2008 10:26 pm

    Love the snow on your blog!

    Hooray–no more dead TV! 🙂

    What a busy week. I’m glad the party went well and that you are able to enjoy a nice meal that you didn’t have to make. The cathedral sounds like a neat field trip.

    We’ve been battling the sniffles over here. Kind of feels like hunkering-down weather to me.

    Good luck with the concert!

  3. December 9, 2008 5:18 am

    I’m not in the Christmas spirit yet. My tree is always up the weekend after Thanksgiving. This year we’re in the middle of bathroom remodel and it just hasn’t happened. I promised the kids this week, though.

    Take your drapes to the cleaners and have them ironed. One less thing for you to worry about and they will do a very good job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

