Skip to content

First day back

January 5, 2009

The boys were excited.  I . . . wasn’t.  At all.  In the least.

I’m not ready to be back in the busy-ness of our lives.  Except we need some structure and routine in our lives again.  I’m craving it.  I just know it goes nonstop for us until sometime in March.  DH helped the boys write up a routine for the break after Christmas.  I don’t think we actually followed it once, except A did do his piano practice almost daily and we got a lot of reading done.

I had great plans to get rid of some clutter and get totally organized for the next few months of school.  It didn’t happen.  I was just never in the mood.  I’ve really taken a vacation from things the last two weeks.  (Except for reading, of course.)

Last Thursday and Friday I was feeling really crummy and kind of lost all of my energy to do anything productive.  But one of the ladies I visit teach asked me for a ride up to get her nails done on Saturday.  So I took my planning notebook with me and sat in the car for an hour and at least got things down on paper for the next 3 months.  That felt really good, except for the realization that we are WAY behind in many subjects, science especially.

We’ll have to go into July probably to finish our astronomy study.  But it is much nicer to go out and look at stars when it’s not 15 degrees outside, so maybe it’s for the best.  Although we did really enjoy seeing Venus and the crescent moon very close together on New Year’s Eve after the sun went down.  (It was just so cold!)  If not for the mountains to the west, we could have seen Mercury and Jupiter as well.  And I found a great new website,  Classical Astronomy, which I plan on exploring further.

Because we’re behind, we’re taking this week to cover four chapters in history to get back on track.  They are ones I hadn’t planned on spending a lot of time with anyway so I don’t think we’ll be missing out on much.  There are topics I’d much rather camp out with later on in the schedule.  So today we covered the scattering of the Jews and colored Herod’s temple.  Tomorrow we’ll move on to Africa and end up in India by the end of the week.

A did an addition worksheet from math-drills.com.  I was happy to hear him say it was really easy, especially after two weeks off.  C did a reading lesson.  We all read the parable of the talents from the New Testament, made bread, went to the library, and had quiet reading time. Tomorrow we’ll add Latin and science and by next Monday we should be back to a full schedule.

A, who has hardly read any books on his own in the past three months or so, has read five books since New Year’s!  His love of reading has been rekindled.  Some of the books lately have been easier as I’ve been trying to rehook his interest, but tonight he just finished James and the Giant Peach.  We bought him an LED clip-on lamp for his bed and he likes to stay up and read, which I’m completely ok with.  He’s a night owl and lately, if he can’t sleep, he comes out and tries to get chatty with me, which sometimes drives me crazy.  I need a certain amount of quiet-unwind-can’t handle any more conversation-don’t talk to me-just leave me alone-or I can’t be the happy Mommy tomorrow-time in the evenings.

I wanted a brand-new job chart for this week, but it didn’t quite happen.  However, everybody got jobs to do today and they were all happy about helping out.  We’ve been very random lately about picking jobs and I’m working on a “If it’s Monday–you do this” kind of chart.  We also started a new habit of picking up and putting away everything, and I mean everything, when we’re done with schoolwork for the day.  I don’t know why it’s not our habit yet, but it isn’t, and it needs to be.  It’s why I have a giant pile of “stuff” waiting to be sorted from the last 4 months of school.  We had to clean it off the table so we could have Christmas dinner and our new plan is to keep the table out in the middle of the room and not pushed back against the wall and maybe it will not accumulate as much stuff.  One can only hope.

Now if it will just warm up. . .

It got down in the single digits over the weekend.  I’ve been freezing since Saturday and today I’m wearing triple layers.  (Maybe that’s why I haven’t been terribly motivated to get going in the mornings lately.)  The house is colder than normal but not terribly bad, but I just can’t seem to warm myself up.  So it’s off to turn on my electric blanket and get a warm night’s sleep.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2009 8:59 am

    My kids have been begging for a new chore chart. I think they are getting tired of our current one after a year. I’m hoping to get it done sooner rather than later.

  2. January 6, 2009 10:12 am

    oh, k, this all sounded so familiar to me. we desperately need to be back in our routine, but i find myself easing in instead of jumping in with both feet. yesterday we did a little russian, math drills, a history lesson with a writing response, and journals. and reading goes without saying. i want to add in art and get a better plan in science, and i really truly want a new chore chart as well. i just feel like i need a week to prepare after the holidays, and yet my kids needed to get back to school. sigh.

Leave a Reply

