Skip to content

Week 20…

January 12, 2009

If it even counts as a week. 

Friday we simply took the day off.  School has been rather pathetic this week.  There’s no new schedule, no job chart, no enthusiasm whatsoever for school(at least on my part), but we did persevere and get a few things finished, although everyone’s attention spans need to be worked on.  But I am happy to say that (now that it’s January 11) all the Christmas decorations are finally put away (except for the wreath on the front door and I want something to replace it with first.)

Speaking of pine needles, the best part of the week happened Tuesday afternoon.  Tuesday we actually did a fair amount of work.  By 2:30 we still had Kindermusik class to practice for, quiet reading time to do, and a Christmas tree to finish undecorating (which I intended to do last Saturday, then Monday, then…)  So then there was a knock on the door.  It was the census takers.  Apparently we were some of the lucky few who got the 2010 long form mailed to us (which I vaguely remember receiving and have no idea where it got put amidst holiday craziness.)  I had an hour before needing to leave for Kindermusik so I said sure they could come in and ask a few questions.  (Few being relative, but they did assure me it took a lot less time than filling out the form would have.)

Of all the days for somebody to come over.  The house looked like a tornado blew through.  Really.  Even worse than usual.  Much worse.  The boys had strewn blankets and books all over the living room for reading time.  Christmas presents without a home were still out.  Christmas storage boxes were all over the floor.  I had to remove several piles of books and toys just so the census takers could sit down on the couch.  They asked if the boys had just gotten home from school.  Dare I say it?  “No, we’re homeschooling!”  The supervisor then gushed about what a wonderful website the census bureau has (One of the top 100!) with teacher’s plans and activities for kids. 

Our (very dry) tree was halfway undecorated and the boys were begging me to let them finish.  I consented figuring it would keep them busy and somewhat quiet (at least until they started pulling the beads across the wood floor in the music room.)  So while the brand new, first day on the job census taker was asking me question after question, the boys pulled ornaments off the tree flinging dry needles all over the room.  I was really just guessing at questions like how much does my husband make, how much is our house worth, how much is our homeowner’s insurance and property tax, while watching the tree wobble as the boys pulled a little too hard to get the ornaments off, and desperately hoping it wouldn’t fall over again.  It was an adventure.  The supervisor got a kick out of the boys though.  She thanked me profusely for letting them come and I thanked them profusely for coming.  Genealogy buffs such as myself know the value of a well-taken census! 

That was the highlight of the week.  (That and finally dragging the very dry dead Christmas tree out to the curb by myself, leaving behind approximately 6000 needles to be vacuumed up.  Eventually.  I’m sure we haven’t found the last of them yet.)

As far as actual schoolwork goes:

We started the letter N with D.  I think we read one book together and that was it.  So this week we’ll continue with the letter N.

C did 8 pages in Explode the Code, reading lessons 92-94, and read Snow Bears and Frog and Toad All Year out loud to me. 

A did two Writing with Ease exercises, some more addition worksheets from math-drills.com, and practiced the piano almost every day.  He’s also been reading a ton.  That at least has been a success.  Just this week alone, he’s finished George’s Marvelous Medicine, James and the Giant Peach, and The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me, all by Roald Dahl, as well as Along Came a Dog by Meindert DeJong.  He loves his new lamp clipped on to his bed, although I think I need to set a time limit on how long he can use it.  He’s stayed up awfully late a few nights and while I love that he’s reading so much, he needs more sleep too.  

We had planned to start Barb’s Winter Wednesday challenges this weekend, but Thursday and Friday were not my best days at all and I think I was lucky to just get out of bed.

Amazingly we also got through Prima Latina lesson 11 and learned about Puccini from the Classics for Kids website.  In history we played catch up.  We basically just read through SOTW chapter 20 (the Diaspora), chapter 29 (African Kingdoms), and chapter 5 (the Medieval Indian Empire) and did the mapwork and a few coloring pages.  We also read a few extra books, but that was all.  We also enjoyed Terry Jones’ Medieval Lives video over New Year’s. 

p1100309

Saturday afternoon we had the chance to go see a documentary that my uncle made about a group called Youth Making a Difference and their humanitarian service trips to India this past year.  It was powerful and I have more to say about it in a future post, but it was neat to see India after having just talked about it with the boys.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. juliapadg permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:29 am

    Great story about the census taker. That’s how it always works. Someone comes over at the most chaotic, messy time.

  2. Julie permalink
    January 12, 2009 1:45 pm

    Wow, for a non-productive week, you guys got a ton done.

    I left the tinsel and lights on the tree… I was just so tired of pulling things off.

  3. January 12, 2009 4:52 pm

    The week back after a vacation is always hard. I am usually happy if we at least make it through half of what we usually do.

    Your boys sound like they had fun taking down the tree. That is funny that the Census taker would come just at that time.

    I hope this week goes better for you.

Leave a Reply

