Skip to content

What do you do

January 12, 2009

What do you do. . .

when you’re feeling blue?

I have all these happy posts waiting to be published.  But I just haven’t felt very happy lately.  I don’t want to post about my innermost thoughts, trials, and troubles at the moment, but I also don’t want the blog to look like everything is just fine and rosy when it’s not.  Not really. 

So here I sit, typing but not really saying much.  I’m just feeling a little overwhelmed and rundown by life at the moment and I’m in a blue mood. 

Maybe posting about all the happy things of late would help.

Maybe this week will be better. 

I hope. . .

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 7:00 am

    I understand how you feel and what you are saying about posting happy blog posts. I think go ahead and post them and they might help lift your spirits.

    I feel really run downed by life right now too, so I am not sure what to say to help you there, but maybe see if you can take a little break or night out with your husband or yourself and relax. Easier said than done I know! And if you haven’t already, talk with someone about what you are feeling. When I feel blue and I talk to my husband about it, he always helps me sort things out and makes me feel better.

    Hope you feel better soon and let me know if you need anything, even though I am far away.

  2. January 12, 2009 8:53 am

    Hi!

    January tends to do this to me. And this year, it is particularly bad. I have so many awful things to report. I have always tried to stay positive on the blog, leaving out the bad stuff that happens in the day. But I know what you mean about not wanting to just make it seem happy happy.

  3. January 12, 2009 8:53 am

    I hate that feeling…yes, I experience that too. I hope it doesn’t last long and that you are soon your bubbly happy self. 🙂 Let me know if you need a sitter for the night out that Crystal suggested. I’d happily do that for you. 🙂

  4. January 12, 2009 9:59 am

    I’m sorry you’re feeling down right now. Wish I lived closer so I could come over to help – watch the kids, whisk you away, or something.

    Just posting what you did today is keeping it real.

    Here’s hoping the “sun” will shine a little brighter for you today. 😀

  5. Michelle permalink
    January 12, 2009 12:02 pm

    I can relate. Last year was especially hard for me. I try to keep the blog positive, but I also want it to be real. But sometimes I think if it were really real it would be more like “Depressing thoughts from a pathetic freak (ME)!” 🙂 So sometimes I just don’t post anything at all, or, sometimes I use my blog to help me stay focused on happier things.

    I hope things get better for you!

  6. Denise permalink
    January 12, 2009 12:26 pm

    Come to San Diego. Leave your kids here and you and B can leave for a couple of days. Jan is a good time for that but the invitation is always open. When I lived in cold places I always had a trip to SD in the winter b/c it is hard to handle all the cold without a break.

    Sometimes when I am bored or down I read a favorite book over again (becuase I don’t have the will to try something new in case it might be bad).

    Eating ice cream, cleaning out a closet and exercize are also things that give me a boost!

    Hope things get a little better soon.

  7. January 12, 2009 1:35 pm

    i know what you mean. at the moment, i have a case of the blahs, i think. but there was a time last year when we were going through some excruciating and personal trials that i couldn’t write about, yet it seemed so fake to act like nothing was going on. i hope you figure out what to do. it does help to count your blessings, even while acknowledging that things are hard.
    hang in there. you’ve been through hard things before and you’ve always been blessed to come through them stronger and better.

  8. January 12, 2009 4:59 pm

    This is a really hard time of year. I am always so tired after the holidays yet still have soooo much to do. I totally understand feeling a little off and not particularly cheery. I hope you feel better soon.

  9. Anonymous permalink
    January 16, 2009 4:56 am

    Gees- where have I been? I hope all is going well with you- I just recently went through a week of health scares and I will tell you what- I didnt feel like speaking to anyone, homeschooling or anything- So I am feeling it with you! Plus add the weather just being January- I am thinking about you- and hope you can hang in there-

  10. Anonymous permalink
    January 16, 2009 4:57 am

    Ooops I always forget to fill out that form- That was me Angela above

Leave a Reply

