Skip to content

I just want to say…

January 15, 2009

Thank you.

Thank you for caring.  Thank you for the comments and kind emails when I was feeling down.  I’m feeling much better this week.  It’s not the winter blues, I’m just dealing with some specific physical issues and I was pretty spent emotionally from it all last week as well. 

It helps to have good friends that care.  Thank you.

******************************

Now I’m trying to deal with everything that needs to be done around here.  Have you ever felt like there is so much that needs to be done, you have no idea where to start, and therefore you are paralyzed into inactivity?  That’s what I feel like.  I just sit here looking around me and don’t even know where to begin. 

I need a better morning routine.  Well, we need better routines all around.  We need to eat better.  I need to exercise (not just more, I need to exercise to begin with.)  I need more sleep.  I’m sure I need to drink more water.  We need a new school schedule so what isn’t getting done will get done and I can figure out how to add in all the new things I want to (because I’m crazy.)  I love a clean house but can’t seem to figure that one out at all.  Besides all the obvious work, it seems like every cupboard I open, every drawer I pull out, every closet, nook, and cranny needs to be cleaned out, sorted, rearranged, etc.  It’s weighing down on me. 

Where do I start?  Help!

 

On the positive side (or maybe I’m just in avoidance mode) I’m on book #4 in 2009. 

Expect a book review soon.

And I will try to be positive for the next week.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Karie permalink
    January 16, 2009 7:56 am

    I had that same feeling just before Christmas and then after New Year’s. I just walked around the house seeing ALL that needed to be done, but not wanting to do any of it.

  2. January 16, 2009 8:24 am

    This is exactly how I feel right now. Everything you wrote is what would come from my mouth. i need a maid! 🙂

    seriously, is there some magical cure somewhere?

  3. January 16, 2009 9:06 am

    Ahhhh…..the never ending cycle of motherhood, especially a homeschooling mother which naturally means more plates spinning at a time. I think we are all searching for that elusive magical solution.

    Glad to know you are feeling a little better this week. 😀

  4. Sheila permalink
    January 16, 2009 9:21 am

    I have this same problem, and no solutions. If someone has the answer, let me know! I’ve been trying to do little projects of cleaning things out as I can. Right now, there is nothing under my bed except a few dust bunnies. I’m guessing even though we want it, it’s impossible for the entire house, all nooks and crannies, to be spotless all at once, and all the time. At least not without a maid or two! We can only do our best. But I know, I wish my house was cleaner.

  5. January 16, 2009 10:09 am

    I know EXACTLY where you can start. Now that we are in a house, you can let me know which night your boys want to come over. We would love to watch them for you. And as an added bonus, Tae is finishing up her meds and no longer has the crazy croup cough!

    Actually, I’m serious. We have the Pixar Shorts DVD, Dr. Suess books, a book collection for someone A’s age, checkers, a huge dump truck, and a front room that can fit it all (sorry, no trains). I’d even be willing to throw in a meal or two. OH! And they would TOTALLY love playing with the bells!! You could go on a date, clean the house, or just read a book. Oh, did I mention that I’m going to pester you until you let me know when we can watch them?

    Love ya and glad your feeling a little better.

  6. January 16, 2009 10:23 am

    You know, sometimes it’s easier (and more fun) to clean someone else’s house than your own. If you’d like (and even though my house seems to be in the same predicament as yours), you could take Tamaran up on her offer, and I could come over for some serious tag team on your house. At least we’d make a dent in all the things you need to do, and you might find the get up and go to get more things done later. 🙂

    It’s an option. 🙂

  7. January 16, 2009 10:24 am

    i gave you a blog award…check out my website. http://www.4twinklingstars.blogspot.com

  8. January 16, 2009 9:51 pm

    i don’t know what your finances are like, but is it possible that you could eek out a little money from your budget for a housekeeper? i am lucky (blessed) in that we have a weekly housekeeper who trades services with my husband so we don’t have to pay her. it is such a relief, plus it forces me to take an hour or three before she comes to get ready for her (declutter). not only is our house much cleaner than it used to be, but my stress levels about housework have dropped tremendously. we’ve already decided that when this trade deal ends we are willing to pay for it, even though we are penny pinchers.
    my kids and i also do daily pick-ups so that they rarely go to bed or turn on the t.v. if there are any toys out, shoes where they shouldn’t be, etc. i try to involve them as much as possible because if they feel like they are a part of cleaning the house, they are more likely to keep it clean.
    i know what you mean about needing better routines, etc. life is always better when you’ve got your ducks in a row. but just know that there are times when you can’t do everything you want to. i don’t know what you are going through, but don’t put expectations on yourself that are too high to be attained with everything you have on your plate.
    and don’t forget to pray for help.

  9. January 16, 2009 10:31 pm

    What day would the boys like to come join us for school?

    We’ll be waiting for the call. 🙂

  10. January 16, 2009 10:32 pm

    No, actually, I’m going to call you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

