Skip to content

Week 21

January 17, 2009

We had a very short week.  I was supposed to have a test done at the hospital on Monday, and long story short, it wasn’t done, but our morning was essentially shot after driving out there and back.  Then Mom called to say that my great-uncle Max had passed away and so we decided to make the 3-hour drive to Vernal for the funeral on Thursday.  We actually left Wednesday night and between that and prepping for my Wednesday cello students and packing the car, we didn’t get school work done that day either.  But it was nice to be out there with the family, and a short road trip and change of scenery was very good for all of us.  

The rest of the week went something like this:

D: Letter N:  He traced big and little N (5 times) and we read a lot of books: On Noah’s Ark, The Napping House, Here Comes the Night, Nobody’s Nosier than a Cat, Nutmeg (I really liked this one), and Nicolas, Where have you Been?  He also colored Noah and some giraffes and lions from Jan Brett’s website

C: ETC: 6 pages
Reading: Lessons 96 and 97, and he read Poppleton and Friends by Cynthia Rylant and Uncle Elephant by Arnold Lobel out loud to me.

A: Math: More addition practice and lesson 40 in Singapore 2B, beginning fractions
Grammar: Lessons 88 and 89 on homonyms
Writing: 1 dictation exercise
Cursive: Letter M and N sheets
Latin: Lesson 12

Music: A had a piano lesson and only C went to Kindermusik.  Today everybody went to my symphony’s children’s concert in the afternoon.  They especially liked the Mary Poppins Fantasy we played and loved the mime as well.  I’ve never been conducted by a mime before!  It was quite the concert.  We also played music from Sesame Street, Pops Hoedown, Mozart’s Toy Symphony, and two pieces with dancers from the University’s ballet program. 

History: We read SOTW chapter 30 on “India Under the Moghuls” and did mapwork for chapters 5 and 30.  And we read several Indian literature books: The Hungry Lion, Savitri, and The King’s Chessboard.

p1170287

p1170284

Other Literature: After reading 4 books last week, A has slowed down and has only read The Stray by Dick King-Smith this week.  On our road trip we finished listening to A Little Princess.  It’s such a lovely book, I need to get my own copy.  I’m slowly building up my own library of classics.  Next we’re listening to Pinocchio. 

Now that I’ve typed it all out, I’m amazed we accomplished what we did in the time we had!  Hopefully by next week, we’ll have some sort of doable schedule worked out.  We need one desperately.  There’s so much I feel we’re missing out on mainly because I’m the one that’s not terribly with it lately.  I need to do better.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2009 10:10 pm

    Don’t be hard on yourself!!
    It looks like you guys were very productive especially given you had a death in the family and as you mentions- the hospital fluke.
    You’re a great mom. Now repeat after me 3 times- I’m a great mom, I’m a great mom, I’m a great mom 🙂

  2. January 17, 2009 10:47 pm

    I agree with the previous comment. You ARE a great mom. You’re doing so well. We all have days and weeks and sometimes months when things don’t happen as we had hoped. That’s when we take stock of what has and hasn’t happened (as you seem to have done already) and then just charge forward and try a little harder. Just know that you are being guided to teach those wonderful boys of yours the things they need to know…and you’re doing a GREAT JOB OF IT!!!

    Let me know if I can help in any way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

