Skip to content

Something that’s working

January 18, 2009

(Trying to be positive this week!)

Family Home Evenings on Monday night have been pretty hit and miss the last little while as it felt like one more thing I had to plan out.  So we finally decided to take turns giving the lesson.  Yay!!!  (I have no idea why it’s taken us this long to decide that!)  I’m sure it will still fall to me to help the younger two prepare their lessons, but at least we also have topics picked out now.  We decided to do lessons for each of the statements listed on “My Gospel Standards.”  

And to make it even easier, Deseret Book has an archive of Family Home Evening lessons on all different subjects, including “My Gospel Standards!”  They’re not always the most creative lessons or geared towards the 8-and-under crowd, but at least it’s a starting place.  We’ve had great FHEs for two weeks in a row now!

It’s also very cute to hear the boys learn to conduct a meeting and say things like, “And now we’ll turn the time over to ___ for the lesson.”  Or as C says, “I’m practicing for when I’m the bishop.”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2009 8:28 am

    That’s great!!!

  2. January 19, 2009 8:31 am

    I like the idea of doing the My Gospel Standards. We too often just pull out the friend and read one of the articles and discuss it for FHE. I too just always felt like it was yet another lesson for me to plan and give. So it hasn’t been the best use of that Family time. I will have to check out Deseret Book’s archive as well as other FHE ideas online.

  3. January 19, 2009 9:19 am

    Our FHEs have been hit and miss, too. Here’s another resource you may want to check out. I haven’t looked at it closely….just saved it in Favorites until I get to it….but it looks like it could have potential.

    http://www.sugardoodle.net/mambo/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3510&Itemid=5

  4. January 19, 2009 12:38 pm

    C is such a character! And I bet he’ll make a great bishop someday too.

    We never really did FHE until the beginning of 2007. I decided we really needed to start working on it as a family and what happens? They ask me to head up an FHE enrichment group! I did that for one year and it became habit. Now the kids know 7pm Monday nights are for us.

    Definitely make up a chart to rotate assignments. It helps tremendously! The link shared above is wonderful because it covers all the weekly themes in Primary this year – and the lessons are already planned out.

    I’ve been trying to post lessons every Sunday complete with the visuals. Sometimes the lessons are geared for older children and teens, sometimes for the younger kids.

  5. January 20, 2009 9:23 am

    I love the things your boys say. They crack me up!

  6. Tammy permalink
    January 21, 2009 7:41 am

    This link is fabulous! We’ve been very hit and miss with our FHE until last November when we got one of those peg boards that hang on the wall. Everyone rotates their job each week, and we have been having great luck having it now. I think it’s because it’s not such an overwhelming task for one person anymore. Even Kayla can do a lesson. It might be short, and it might be a story read from the Friend, but that’s good enough for me! lol

Leave a Reply

