Skip to content

Weekly Report 23

January 30, 2009

I should separate this little report out by days, so you could see just how little we did on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday morning.  Monday was great, but for me, the rest of the week was not.  As much as I hope for a week when we can just “do school” and not have life interrupting, I think the lesson is that life always happens, we have to work school around it, and the challenge is to see how well we cope and adjust to what’s being thrown at us.  I’m not sure how well I passed that challenge this week, but here’s what the boys have been up to.  They had a great week, even though I made them work through most of Friday afternoon to catch up a little. 

D: Letter P: We started letter P, colored pandas, read a few books, and had a picnic (in the living room.)  There is so much more I want to do for P!  So we’ll keep this letter for another week.

Living room picnic

Living room picnic

C: ETC: 6 pages
Math: Finished the telling time section, to the hour and half-hour
Reading: Lessons 99, 100, 101 and read Poppleton, Poppleton in Winter and The Alphabet Keeper  out loud.
Copywork: None

A: Math: 2 review sections (adding is good, now we’ve forgotten how to subtract–guess what next week’s drills are?) and lessons 46-47  on telling time
Grammar: Finally finished the 1st-grade section of Growing with Grammar and we skimmed over the first part of Grade 2 on sentences for review.
Cursive: Letter O
Writing: 3 WWE assignments
Latin: We finally began lesson 14 yesterday and will continue it next week.

Science: We talked about rivers, lakes, and oceans.  We read Follow the Water from Brook to Ocean and watched two videos: one about weathering and erosion, and one about oceans, which we’ll continue to study next week.  A and C did narration pages for their notebooks.  C is getting much better at narrating back what he’s learned.   And I just realized I forgot to schedule two weeks’ worth of science lessons into my master calendar.  Time for the eraser.  Again.

Science books, video, notebook pages

Science books, video, notebook pages

Music: A had a piano lesson, and I’m practicing for a concert tomorrow night.  That’s about it in the music department.  It was semester break for Kindermusik and I don’t think we’ve listened to Puccini once.

History: We read SOTW chapter 9 about China, Japan, and Korea, and the section on Samurai warriors in chapter 17 that we skipped.  We did the mapwork and also talked about Chinese New Year and painted Chinese characters on Monday for art.  I checked out an origami book from the library and A proceeded to make about 14 origami figures on his own and hung them up on his wall.  I’m still looking for the origami paper I bought once so we could make some nice colorful ones.  Today we read Count Your Way through Japan and watched a short video on Japan.  I’m trying to add in cultural geography of the places we study in history.  Some weeks are better than others.

History and literature books from the Far East

History and literature books from the Far East

Other Literature: We’re almost finished with Pinocchio in the car.  A has been reading like crazy, although I’m looking for some different authors.  He devours Dick King-Smith books, but needs to branch out a little, I think.  Since the last weekly report he has read Three Terrible Trins, The Merman, The Roundhill, Clever Duck, Martin’s Mice, The School Mouse, and Mysterious Miss Slade, all by King-Smith as well as The Minpins by Roald Dahl, and Mouse Noses on Toast by Daren King. 

Other Activities: We haven’t done much outside the house this week, although the weather’s been so much nicer and at least for now, the inversion is gone.  We’ve just gone outside for walks and did go to the library.  A is now in Cub Scouts and will have that on Saturday morning.  They’re working on Pinewood Derby cars.  My orchestra has another concert Saturday night which A and DH will come to.

A is painting Chinese characters

A is painting.

p1300309
Chinese characters

 

C painted his name, and D, the child whose letter of the week is P, which stands for paint, refused to try it at all.  I don’t get this kid sometimes.  He certainly has a mind of his own.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2009 3:53 am

    I am copying the list of books you mentioned, my kids have been going through books like crazy too so I get very excited when I hear about titles they haven’t read yet!

  2. January 31, 2009 8:10 am

    I love the Chinese characters. Great job! Looks like a great week.

  3. juliapadg permalink
    February 1, 2009 6:17 am

    My kids loved it when we did origami. My son, who is apparently an entrepreneur, decided to make a booth beside the road and sell them for .25 each. He made a couple bucks off our very kind neighbors, lol.

  4. February 1, 2009 10:21 pm

    Looks like a fun week. Glad to hear A is enjoying reading. That’s a good thing.

    have a good week!

Leave a Reply

