Skip to content

104th day of school…

February 3, 2009

Such an odd title, I know.

I was going to do a mid-year assessment on where we’re at on our 100th day of school.  Obviously that didn’t work out.  (Last Tuesday–it was busy, I was grumpy, and I had orchestra that night.)  Originally I was going to write a “What’s working” post way back in October or so.  Here I am, finally getting around to it on our 104th day of school…

D–age 4, Preschool:  We’re learning a letter a week with D.  It’s going pretty good.  Some weeks we do a lot of things using ideas from Letteroftheweek.com and other weeks we only read a few books and he traces the letter.  Either way, he likes it and is retaining almost all of the letters and some of the sounds.  I need to review a lot more, but D loves the time he gets for his school.  I think he feels left out sometimes because I need to spend more time with the other two, and honestly we try to include him as much as we can but some days he would much rather go play with trains and cars than read history and science with us.  I need to plan more fun preschool projects just for him.  He also finished the Kumon Upper-case letter tracing workbook and the cutting workbook. 

Subjects for C, age 5.5, Kindergarten and A, age 8, 2nd Grade:

MATH: C is cruising through the Singapore Earlybird Math 2B book right now.  He just finished the section on telling time to the hour and half-hour and is moving on to place value in lesson 13 (of 18).  He’ll move into Primary Math 1A after this.   A is currently on lesson 49 (of 67) in Singapore Primary Math 2B.  I had planned to complete 2B and 3A this year.  I don’t know that that will happen.  We had to take a month or so off and just work on math facts, which helped greatly and we continue to do arithmetic practice daily in addition to the lessons.  I’m going to try doing math for a set time each day rather than just an assigned lesson.  I’ll think we could move faster as some of the lessons are quite short.

LANGUAGE ARTS

  • Phonics for C: He has 23 pages left in Go for The Code and will probably move on to book 1 in Explode the Code after that.  He loves the workbooks and has no problems with them.
  • Copywork: C had problems doing copywork words, so we backed up to just practicing letters, one at a time.  His handwriting is improving but I need to be a lot more consistent with this.  We’ve hardly done any since Christmas.  A is learning cursive a letter at a time (up to O) and has copied a few scriptures, but we’ve been concentrating more on writing assignments from WWE.
  • Writing: A is on week 11 in Writing with Ease (WWE) and I love this program!  I will elaborate in a separate post.
  • Grammar: A has been working through Growing with Grammar 1/2 after ditching First Language Lessons last year and just barely finished Grade 1.  Hopefully we can get through the grade 2 assignments by summer by doubling up the lessons.  I like that they’re fairly short and self-explanatory.
  • Spelling: We dropped Spelling Workout in September.  It felt like busywork and I’m debating what to use next year as I feel we need to work on spelling again. 
  • Latin: We love Prima Latina!  We’re up to lesson 14 and while we need to review much more often, A is doing fine and the other two pick up quite a bit as well.  This is a fun subject!  I love it.

READING/LITERATURE: C is up to lesson 103 in The Ordinary Parent’s Guide to Teaching Reading and has taken off on reading early readers like Frog and Toad, Henry and Mudge, and Little Bear books, even when a lot of words are beyond his official reading lessons.  He likes being able to read real books now.  A also reads like crazy now, after a few months of not wanting to read anything on his own.  He’s read 23 books since Christmas and I’m adding much harder books to his pile now and he doesn’t think twice about picking them up and trying them out.  He just finished Doctor Dolittle in 2 days.  It’s nice to know he’s no longer intimidated by small print.

 

And this is getting to be really long, so I’ll continue with the rest of our subjects in the next post.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    February 4, 2009 7:24 am

    Thanks for writing this. I can’t wait for the Writing with Ease post. Also, can tell me the differences between FLL and Growing with Grammar? We haven’t started a grammar program yet.

  2. February 4, 2009 7:25 am

    sorry that was me above,
    Crystal

  3. February 4, 2009 12:04 pm

    I’ve been off the blog for a while now. I’ve been missing your posts but life here has been so crazy. It’s nice to see that our 5yo’s are reading the same books. We’ve got all the Little Bear and Frog and Toad books. He usually fights me at reading lesson time, but he’s starting to give in sooner 🙂 I think it’s the excitement over being able to read real words from real books. He often says he can’t read the words, but I caught him reading words on the microwave (of all places!) last week, so now I know he can at least read the words from his lessons!

    My 7yo is having trouble transitioning from big print books with pictures every few pages to books with hardly any pictures and smaller print for independent reading. Was there any specific book or anything that made A not be intimidated by the smaller print books? Does that question even make sense? 🙂

Leave a Reply

