Skip to content

Weekly Report 24

February 8, 2009

Another week gone!  I can’t say it was particularly exciting, but we got some good work done and we’re moving ahead.  It was nice to do a mid-year assessment this week and see where we’re really at.  I think it helped me to relax a little bit and not feel stressed over what we didn’t get to.  We’re a little bit behind here and there and it’s ok.

D: Letter P: It was P again and I still didn’t get to everything I wanted to.  I need a big reminder sign somewhere that says, “Don’t Forget to do Letter of the Week with D.”  I do forget, often.  It will be time to fix dinner and I’ll suddenly remember I didn’t do anything specifically for D that day.  He’s good at going to hide play in his bedroom when I get busy with the other two and out of sight, out of mind.  But in spite of that (and thanks to DH for reading to the boys on Friday) we got through a lot of P books on picnics, pumpkins, polar bears, pirates, potatoes, Peter Rabbit, and Papa Piccolo (also for FIAR).

p2070326

We also did puzzles, watched March of the Penguins, D made a pig puppet and traced Ps, A colored a penguin, and all three learned “Peter, Peter, Pumpkin eater” and made Peter and his wife stick puppets.  I think that was the highlight of Friday.  I don’t know if that means I need to do more arts and crafts, or if they were all just pining for their pre-school cut-and-paste days.  We don’t do much of that anymore.  I’m just not a crafty mom, but we had fun with letter P.  It was also a great week for snacks.  We ate popcorn, pretzels, peanut butter on celery, peanut butter on pretzels, peanut butter cookies with Grandma, and they almost had me convinced I should make a pie. 

p2070328

For the rest of the week:

C: ETC: 9 pages, only 17 to go!
Math: Lesson 12 and 13, sequencing days of the week and counting by 10s 
Reading: Lessons 103, 104 and read Days with Frog and Toad
Copywork: None

A: Math: Lesson 48, 49, and 3 review lessons
Grammar: Lessons 98-102
Cursive: None
Writing: 3 lessons, finished up week 11 assignments in WWE
Latin: Lesson 14

FIAR: We began reading Papa Piccolo, our next FIAR unit, and talked about Italy and learned about Marco Polo.  We’ll finish up next week.

Science: We completed the outdoor hour challenge this week which was to do a winter tree study.  It was fun to compare the pictures we’ve taken of our two trees in each of the four seasons.

Music: Our new composer is Bizet, not that we’d know because we didn’t get around to learning anything about him this week.  But the boys did go to their Kindermusik classes and A had a piano lesson.  We’ve also been learning “How Firm a Foundation.”

History: We read two chapters in SOTW this week covering the Mongols and Marco Polo.  We read a wonderful biography by Demi and also read a storybook account of Marco Polo’s journal in addition to a few more Chinese folktales, Liang and the Magic Paintbrush and Bitter Dumplings, all of which we enjoyed.  A and C also did the mapwork, colored Genghis Khan, and had to put his history in sequential order (and remembered more about it than I did.)  We also watched a biography video on Marco Polo that I actually wasn’t very impressed with.  I have another one here from the Biography series on A&E that I remember seeing and enjoying once before that maybe we’ll watch this week.  I’m fascinated by Marco Polo. 

p2070331

Other Literature: We’re listening to The Wind in the Willows in the car now and A has slowed down somewhat with his reading.  He’s only (I’m rolling my eyes here) read three books this week–Doctor Dolittle, Sophie is Seven, and is in the middle of The Westing Game.  Technically we’re still reading Robin Hood aloud, but haven’t picked it up at all lately.  Maybe next week.

Other Activities: We didn’t do anything extra this week, we’ve been homebodies except for one afternoon at Grandma’s and the boys went to play with some of our neighbors so DH and I could have a date to the temple Friday night.  That was nice.  Yesterday A and DH went to Cub Scouts and other than that and a few errands, we had a fairly lazy day at home.  Last Sunday I wished for a weekend.  This week I got it and didn’t do much with it as I had planned, but sometimes it’s nice to just sit home and not do much of anything. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 7:01 am

    I ALWAYS forgetting to do the letter of the week with Buddy… I think we’ve done 4 all year!

  2. Tammy permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:02 am

    Wow, that was a huge week!

    We loved March of the Penguins and watch it every now and then. I remember taking the kids to the theater to see it and the impact it made on them the first time they saw it. It struck a chord particularly in my son.

Leave a Reply

