Skip to content

Monday’s random ramblings

February 16, 2009

Our Valentine cookies (we got tired of hearts):

p2140377

I debated about today.  Do we take the holiday and lose our momentum from last week?  Or do we keep working and talk about presidents instead of the Ottoman Empire?  We kind of did both.  DH had the option of taking the day off, but decided to go to work to try and catch up on some stuff.  He decided to sleep in and go in an hour later, so I did the same and we all got a late start.  We had a lazy day with just a little bit of school (writing, math and Latin) and saved talking about presidents and the Constitution for family home evening.  It worked out well.    

A also practiced the piano and we had quiet reading time, which really wasn’t that quiet because D kept asking, “What can I do now?  What else can I do?”  Find another book, that’s what–It’s *reading* time.  C also read another Poppleton book to me (by Cynthia Rylant).  We love Poppleton books and C thinks they are so funny!  And I read 34 pages in my book besides!  That’s twice as much as I’ve gotten read in the last six days.  I’m wondering what happened to quiet reading time last week.  Obviously we didn’t have it. 

I also wanted to do a lot of catching up on the housework, but opted for somewhat of a holiday on that as well, although we did put in a valiant effort on cleaning up before dinner and things don’t look too bad now.  It will be much easier to start school tomorrow without a gigantic mess. 

And I’m making progress on the kitchen.  Besides baking cookies twice last week and making a nice Valentine’s Day dinner, I also made a really nice birthday dinner and chocolate cake for DH yesterday, using practically every mixing bowl and pan I own.  Multiple times.  I feel like all I’ve done is wash dishes as we don’t have a dishwasher and I abhor drying dishes.  I let them airdry, then do the next sinkful.  And while I’m not finished, the mountain has diminished.

Now I have to get myself psyched up for tomorrow.  It’s non-stop.  We need to get in a full morning of school, I have a cello student after lunch, C has Kindermusik, then we rush home, finish dinner, and I rush off to orchestra.  The two weeks off were so nice, but now we have Brahms Symphony #4 to begin working on.  I’ve got to find some practice time.  That’s really fallen off my schedule lately.

And somewhere in there I need to finish sewing A’s patches on his scout shirt for the Blue and Gold banquet on Thursday night that I can’t even go to because I have a wedding to play for.  Which at least means money for the vacation A and I planned over the weekend that we now have to reschedule because I noticed in the newspaper that the Utah Shakespearean Festival is cutting a week off their summer schedule due to budget cuts and it just happens to be the week we were planning on going.  What are the odds?

And he has almost talked me into making reservations to stay in a tipi at Ruby’s Inn at Bryce Canyon.  I’m so not a camping in a tipi kind of person, but what can I say–$39 a night compared to $165 a night at the lodge inside the park.  Money talks. 

And I scored major points with DH’s birthday present.  He’s wanted this for years.

p2150385

I had no idea, I just remember he mentioned it once.  Luckily Barnes and Noble had a nice leather-bound edition on Friday evening when I suddenly realized his birthday was on Sunday and I didn’t have a present. 

This is my life.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 5:03 am

    I know what you mean when you start later in the day, your whole schedule goes out the window. We started late yesterday and the whole morning was chaos. Here’s hoping we can both have a better day today. 🙂

  2. February 17, 2009 8:49 am

    You make me laugh! So did you schedule the tipi? Awesome! And I totally understand the late remembering of the DHs birthday. Oh and while watching your kids, A told us several times about plans to go to the festival. He is SO excited!

  3. February 17, 2009 10:53 am

    Like the cookies! Come check out Our Lifestyle of Learning. I’d love for you to join the group! http://www.ourlifestyleoflearning.ning.com
    – Brenda S.

  4. February 17, 2009 12:49 pm

    looks like a great compromise between holiday and not. i tend to do the same on such days, although yesterday we threw school out the window and cleaned the house from top to bottom. it felt great.

  5. February 17, 2009 1:13 pm

    Ahh! and what a good life it is!

  6. February 17, 2009 10:05 pm

    i love the pink ocean animals! that’s great. hope dh had a great birthday. looks like it from the present you got him. And I can TOTALLY sympathize with you on the washing dishes by hand. only i would rather dry & put away than wash. we lived without a dishwasher for 5 years and i was overjoyed when we moved & our house had one. good luck finishing up your kitchen!! happy (late) valentine’s day!

  7. February 19, 2009 10:23 am

    Whew. I’m breathless just reading this. And I love the animal valentine cookies.

    Have fun camping. 😉

Leave a Reply

