Skip to content

Weekly Report 26

February 21, 2009

Where did this week go?  It flew by!  Monday holidays always make the week seem off, and we even did some schoolwork that day.  I don’t feel like we did a lot of extra fun stuff, but having the basics of reading, writing, and math done is a really good feeling.  I’ve gone another week without writing out a master schedule.  I take each day as it comes and write out a daily schedule.  So each day is a little different, but noone seems to mind.  I was a little burned out by Friday though.  DH is home on Fridays anyway, so I just plan to start at 10 a.m. rather than try for 9 and end up feeling behind from the get-go.  Less guilt that way!  (And frankly, we haven’t managed to start by 9 a.m. any other day this week either!) And it’s ok!

***If you can see photos on this post, it may be a miracle, we’re having technical difficulties here!

D: Letter R: I can’t say we did a whole lot here, other than read books, but D is able to pick out the Rs in every book and likes to pick out other letters he knows and tries to spell out words as we read.  He colored a raccoon and a rattlesnake and also used art time to paint a rainbow. 

p2200399

He also got a new Kumon Lowercase Letter workbook and has done 4 pages from it so far. 

p2210402

C: ETC: 9 pages and he finished Go for the Code!
Math: counting groups of 10 and place value
Reading: lessons 111-114
Copywork: printing letter A with much moaning and groaning until I made it a race with A and then he had three lines complete (and legible!) in no time at all.

A: Math: Lessons 58-60 and 2 reviews and began geometry.  Thank goodness we have our wooden block set to assist with counting flat and curved faces of different shapes.
Grammar: 3 review lessons on sentences
Cursive: None
Writing: 4 lessons from week 13 in WWE
Latin: Review of lessons 11-15 (although it wasn’t terribly thorough)

Music: We’ve been listening to Bizet.  The boys love dancing to the Toreador song from Carmen.

Art: This makes two weeks in a row that we’ve done art!  I’m amazed, are you?  We talked more about Cimabue this week and about his use of gold leaf, then we painted pictures and applied our own “gold leaf.”

 p22104011

Science: Sadly, we did not do any science this week.  But we did art, so I don’t know if we’re behind or ahead!

History: We read SOTW chapter 24 on the rise of the Ottomon Empire, did mapwork, and colored Suleiman and the defeat of Constantinople.  I also found a great video series called Turning Points in History and we watched the episode on the siege of Constantinople.

Literature: A read The Return of the Dragon by Rebecca Rupp and The Magic of Oz which he started quite a while back and just found and decided to finish this week!  C loves to read and this week read Poppleton Has Fun, Poppleton Forever, and Henry and Mudge and the Bedtime Thumps all by Cynthia Rylant.  We’re finishing up The Wind in the Willows in the car and also read some really nice picture books together this week:

  • Little Red Riding Hood retold by Trina Schart Hyman
  • Rumpelstiltskin by Paul Galdone
  • Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky (absolutely gorgeous illustrations!)
  • The Girl Who Lost Her Smile by Karim Alrawi
  • The Golden Sandal by Rebecca Hickox
  • Baba Yaga and Vasilisa the Brave as told by Marianna Mayer
  • C’s work:

    p2210403

    A’s work:

    p2210404

    Books and a video we enjoyed:p2210405

    Other Activities: We didn’t do much this week or go anywhere terribly exciting.  It felt busy though, even with a Monday holiday, as I started orchestra rehearsal again and also had a 3 1/2 hour wedding to play at Thursday night (and it’s obscene what people pay live musicians, I mean it’s nice and all when you’re the musician, but still…and they had amazing food, possibly the best wedding food we’ve ever had.) 

    A went to his first scout Blue and Gold banquet and got his Bobcat badge.  It was really fun scrambling to hem up his pants (which noone informed me I needed to do, he’s lucky I checked them, they were 6 inches too long!) before going to play the wedding.  But it all worked out, so that was another successful Mommy moment, I suppose.  And I am very proud of myself for finally mending the small holes in five of my sweaters, now that winter is practically over.  Why do I put off these things anyway?

    After realizing I had zero books for the next month and had better stock up, we made the obligatory library trip and are once again up to our 100-book limit on my card even though I think someone else in the area must be at our same place in history because practically every book I wanted was already on hold.  I’ll have to check the county library next.  I also checked out about 5 interesting books for myself.  I have absolutely no idea when I’ll find time to read them in addition to the to-be-read stack already sitting here, but I just can’t resist books!

    8 Comments leave one →
    1. February 21, 2009 3:14 pm

      Looks like a great week. James got his bobcat badge this week too! Go cub scouts!

    2. February 21, 2009 7:36 pm

      Some weeks are like that. Ours was pretty much touch and go because of colds.

    3. February 22, 2009 8:51 am

      We did the gold leaf project too- from Artistic Pursuits right? Yours came out better though, I was completely unprepared and we ended up using candy wrappers!

    4. Linda permalink
      February 22, 2009 9:29 am

      Thanks for mentioning History’s Turning Points! I hadn’t heard of it but I’ve got it on Netflix now.

      I’ve never commented on your blog before but I check it regularly and would like to compliment the clear and detailed presentation of your homeschool work. You bring both organization and creativity to your homeschooling, something I would like to model!

    5. Julie permalink
      February 22, 2009 3:24 pm

      Congrats on the Bobcat Badge. I’m the Wolf leader and I feel horrible that we didn’t finish in time for our Blue and Gold (which I was 30 min late for 😦 ). Our schools do sound very similar, except I’m the mean mom that doesn’t give a day off, lol. We worked on Monday, for what it was worth. I’m looking forward to our next week off (week after this). That’s when I do all my scheduling, so it’s a week off for him, but not me 😉

    6. February 22, 2009 4:43 pm

      Great week! I need to keep tabs on your blog for all the great reading suggestions!! I love George Bizet – we listen to a CD that has opera songs in English, and my kids love that. And I did see your photos – I love seeing all the books:) Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    7. February 22, 2009 9:54 pm

      i love reading your weekly reports. they are inspiring, educational, and give me resource ideas.

      kimball is getting his wolf at the blue and gold banquet this week. we should have had it finished a long time ago–he’s going to be 9 next month–but it’s done now, at least! now we’re busy trying to earn as many arrowheads as he can in the next four weeks.

    8. February 23, 2009 7:15 pm

      Yay! You did art. I know you’ve been trying to fit that it for awhile now.

      I’m still trying to get through my mending pile. I wore a sweater for the first time in 4 years yesterday. Sadly, I’ve gained a lot of weight since then so it didn’t fit. =(

    Leave a Reply

