Skip to content

Week 27

March 1, 2009

There’s very little to tell and even less to show.  Let’s just say Mommy had a bad week and leave it at that.  Essentially we took two days off so here’s what happened in the other three and a little bit of work on Saturday (which is so not the way I want to spend my weekend.) 

D: Letter S: We’ll keep going with S for another week, we seriously did nothing other than read a couple books.  He knows the letter and the sound though.  “Sssssssssss–it’s just like a snake says, Mom!”

He also did one tracing page from his Kumon workbook.

C: ETC: Started the actual Explode the Code book 1 and did 2 pages of short-a words
Math: 1 page of filling in missing numbers on a 1-100 chart and started counting by 5s
Reading: Lesson 116
Copywork: None

A: Math: Lessons 61-65 and two reviews, this was probably the best subject all week.  We actually spent a lot of time on Monday with shapes and patterns and playing with our Discovery Toys Playful Patterns.  Somebody gave C one as a birthday present and we already had a box, but now I’m really glad we have two sets so everyone can use them at the same time with (not as much) arguing.
Grammar: Lessons 109-112
Writing: 3 out of 4 lessons in Writing with Ease week 14
Latin: We watched lesson 16 on the DVD, A still needs to do all the written work. 

Science: No science other than an outdoor challenge from Barb’s wonderful new ebook.  You can read the details and my review in the previous post.

Art/Music: No art this week, unless you count the Leaning Tower of Pisa dot-to-dot A completed (with the help of a magnifying glass). For music, we just went to Kindermusik classes and A’s piano lesson.  We were supposed to finish Bizet, but I might stretch that out into next week.  February just went by too fast!

History: We read SOTW chapter 25 on the Black Death.  A did the mapwork and colored a plague doctor (which brought back great memories of the Utah Symphony Halloween concert last year when someone actually dressed up as a plague doctor and won the costume contest) and he and C did cycle of the plague wheels, which still need brads which I can only find when I don’t need them.  We also watched another History’s Turning Points video about the Black Death.  I wanted to read a lot more in Our Island Story to get caught up to where we’ll be next week in SOTW, but it didn’t happen.  Maybe next week.

p3010428

Other Literature: We finished listening to The Wind in the Willows, and other than that have not read together at all, although C did read me Grasshopper on the Road and Poppleton in the Fall.  A had a great week with personal reading however.  (So math and reading were great, that makes a good week, doesn’t it?)  I don’t know how he does it, but here are the books he’s finished since last weekend:

  • My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George 2/23
  • Little Wolf’s Book of Badness by Ian Whybrow 2/23
  • The 13 Clocks by James Thurber 2/25
  • Gooseberry Park by Cynthia Rylant 2/26
  • Every Living Thing by Cynthia Rylant 2/26
  • On the Far Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George 3/1

Other Activities: Somewhere amidst the 81 hours DH worked this week, he managed to take the boys to the zoo.  We also spent time at Grandma’s, went hiking in Memory Grove (I’m seriously out of shape), A had scouts, and I lost C at the library.  Seriously!  We were coming down from the fourth floor and A stopped on the stairs to talk to me about something, then needed to go to the bathroom which is down another level.  He said C was ahead of him also heading for the bathroom, I was keeping an eye on D and didn’t realize C had actually gone out of the main library into the atrium without us. 

I had an antsy feeling downstairs but couldn’t leave A alone in the bathroom.  He took what felt like forever before finally coming out and telling me that nope, C wasn’t in the bathroom with him after all.  With my heart racing, we ran through the children’s section just in case he had gone downstairs before running back up to circulation.  The librarians saw and recognized me just as I saw him with three security officers.  He was pretty shaken up and teary, but they said he did exactly what he should have.  He realized he’d lost me, came to them and told them, and they called security and all in all, was probably only separated from us for 5 or 6 minutes, but it sure felt like a lot longer, to both of us!  I can’t even put my own feelings into words, even now, but it made me appreciate my little ones all the more.  I’m so glad they’re all with me now, safe in their beds.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 7:26 am

    OM! I know the feeling that accompanies a missing child! Thank the Lord he knew what to do and all is well. <>

    BTW – you accomplished more in 3 days than I did in 7!! That’s the way it goes sometimes. 😀

  2. March 2, 2009 11:14 am

    If my husband had to work 81 hours I would probably have more than 2 bad mom days.

    I hate those scary loose your kid moments. I think I have a mini heart attack everytime it happens. I remember getting into an elevator with my kids when one of them ran back to get a dropped toy. I had the baby in my arms and another by the hand so we turned to follow the running child, but Cookie was still in the elevator and it closed. I will never forget the look of terror on her face as those doors closed. We couldn’t stop it and she went down 2 floors and it felt like much more than 5-6 minutes to finally catch up to her. She was only 7 and was terrified.

  3. March 4, 2009 4:32 am

    I’ve “lost” a kid a couple of times in the library, the way ours is set up it’s really easy for a kid to wander out of sight. It’s only been a few minutes but it really is terrifying. Wow, I can’t believe the size of that reading list, those “My Side of the Mountain” books are long too!

Leave a Reply

