Skip to content

3 More Days…

March 11, 2009

I can do this…Just 3 more days, and I get a break.  Although I still have plenty to do next week: plans to make, books to read, blogging to catch up on, students to teach, a cello to practice.  I may need a break from my break!  But until then, here’s what’s happening around here:  

  • I am dragging myself along this week, forcing myself to be productive.  I am tired.
  • Last week I decided to look at new curriculum for next year.  That always gets my brain going as I start researching new ideas.  I have a hard time shutting it down at night so I can sleep.
  • Add to that DH’s wacky work schedule lately and the fact that I always stay up too late when he’s not home to tell me to go to bed. 
  • Then the time change hit.  What’s up with that anyway?  It feels like we just changed.  Can’t we pick a time and stick to it?  Year-round? (And don’t I write this same complaint twice a year?) 
  • I was fine on Sunday, but after yesterday and today, I feel like a truck hit me. 
  • The boys seem unaffected, except for bouncing off the walls, but I think that’s due more to the weather and being cooped up inside than the time change. 
  • Yes, it’s spring in Utah.  Today was blue skies and sunshine. 
  • Yesterday it was gray.  And depressing.  And windy.  And snowing.  Sideways.
  • We had our hard week-before-concert rehearsal tonight.
  • It was long.
  • It was tiring.
  • I still have some serious practicing to do on the Brahms.
  • But at least it worked out the knot that’s been in my left shoulder today.  Somewhat.
  • I could still use a good massage.
  • And we found out our dress rehearsal is not next Friday night, but next Saturday morning because the concert hall people triple booked it.  We lucked out and got it for the concert, but now dress rehearsal is from 8 to 11 a.m.  We have tickets to the Utah Symphony children’s concert at 11 a.m. and the Stake Relief Society musical program is at 11:30.  And A tried to convince me that the cub scout pinewood derby is also that day. 
  • It isn’t, it’s this Saturday.
  • I think.
  • I’d better get on the phone tomorrow.
  • Which phone won’t stay charged even though it’s brand new because I had to get a new old as my old one died last week.

Enough with the grumpy random thoughts, here are some good things…

  • We’re seeing crocus in bloom!
  • The boys discovered our Benny Goodman cd in the car.  They love it!  And I love that the whole family loves big band.  They dance in their carseats.  It’s so funny!
  • Packages will start coming any day now!  I love getting boxes in the mail.  I would love to have one stop shopping for all the homeschool stuff, but honestly, getting seven boxes is so much more fun than just one, don’t you think?
  • Speaking of packages in the mail, we had one last week.  A saw it and yelled to his brothers, “Hey guys, more homeschool books!”  I love that he said it with such enthusiasm even though it wasn’t actually books.  In fact I couldn’t think what it was, I hadn’t ordered anything yet.  Then I remembered!  The swords and shields that have been on backorder since SEPTEMBER finally came!  The look of joy on D’s face was priceless, and I didn’t even think to get the camera.  Oh well.  They are having so much fun with them.  I think it was worth the wait.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 8:42 am

    Sorry it has been a hard week. Good luck with everything. Oh, and thanks for adding the good things at the bottom. I can totally see them dancing in their carseats! And packages are awesome.

  2. March 11, 2009 10:10 am

    My kids LOVE dancing to Benny Goodman and Glenn Miller tunes. Good luck with all your practices and concerts. Sounds fun and stressful all at the same time.

    I’ve been thinking about homeschool for next year too but have decided I really should utilize all the books I already have so hopefully I won’t spend TOO much. 😀

  3. March 11, 2009 5:08 pm

    We love the mailman during “next year’s planning”…:)

    And when it’s time for a break…take one. You’ll be better for it. 😉

  4. March 11, 2009 8:21 pm

    Come check out my new blog “something good happened” and see all the good things. It might help you a bit. 🙂

  5. March 12, 2009 11:21 am

    OH- sounds super busy. we have spring break this week and everyone else has it next week. i am bummed that my daughter will miss doing fun stuff with her cousins cause she’ll be in school while they’re all out. you can make through the rest of the week! i know you can!!

Leave a Reply

