Skip to content

It’s official…

March 12, 2009

We’re bored with history.  I never thought I’d say that.  We still like history and look forward to doing it, but it’s lost some of the excitement of last year.  Except for the knight costumes for Halloween and the Viking ships, we’ve done very little in the way of fun history projects this year.  Or any history projects for that matter.  It’s been quite different from last year, and I’ll admit, it’s hard to top mummifying a chicken, having our own Olympics, and dressing up for a Roman feast!

We have read a lot of different books though.  I will say that.  It’s been a very rich literature year for us as we’ve utilized the library and the reading lists in the Story of the World activity guide.  I love to read and personally, I am really enjoying the medieval time period through my own reading.  That’s carried over to working with the boys though.  I’d much rather read a book than do a project.  And this year we’ve added in more writing and more math and now that C is officially in Kindergarten, the basics of reading, writing, and arithmetic for two children just take more time to accomplish thoroughly.  And I’m very pleased with how that is all coming along.  A reads in circles around me, C is reading at a 2nd-grade level (according to the book lists at this website), math is coming along, and handwriting for both is improving.

However, they’ve expressed a desire to “do” more projects.  Besides the big projects last year, we did lots of little ones, and did History Pockets besides.  Some of it felt like busy work to me, but they (especially A) really enjoyed it and I think they got a lot more out of our history studies last year as compared to this year. 

So while stifling the urge to groan as it will definitely take more work and preparation on my part (not to mention projects take up space and they can be messy…aaahhh!), we’re adding in more “fun stuff” for the rest of the year.  I found these fantastic Time Traveler cds from Homeschoolinthewoods.com that will give us plenty of things to do as we’re getting into the age of the explorers.  I’ve also ordered the Colonial Life and American Revolution studies to spice up next year! 

I am excited.  Really, I am! Our homeschool has needed some pizzazz for a while now.  Change is good.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole Keller permalink
    March 12, 2009 7:41 pm

    Your kids are so lucky…no, blessed…to have a wonderful mom and teacher like you. You see their needs and you adjust to meet those needs. How awesome are you! I hope I can be like that when my little one is ready for school.

  2. March 12, 2009 8:27 pm

    I know what you mean by not wanting to do that extra stuff. I, too, get really lazy and would rather just read or watch stuff. One day I’ll get busy because I know my youngest would love to do hands on stuff.

  3. March 13, 2009 8:21 am

    Mine is bored with history this year too. I don’t know why, she loved SOTW I but the second volume just isn’t doing it for her. She only likes the projects at this point so I’ve been doing the same as you, looking for ways to make it more interesting!

  4. Gina permalink
    March 13, 2009 1:33 pm

    I totally understand how that goes as well. Having a baby in the house, it’s hard to do lots of hands on activities, so we’re just trudging along as well. But, you’re still doing a LOT more than I could even dream of! So, don’t be too hard on yourselves.

  5. March 13, 2009 2:05 pm

    We don’t do many projects because my oldest and second (the school age ones) don’t really go for projects. I’ve started art lessons a few times and they fizzled out. 7yo just likes to read, read, read. This week its, “Do we have anything else to read about Genghis Khan, Mom?” My 4yo will come along and change all that, though. She loves hands-on projects. It’s funny how they’re all different.

    But I like the link you posted – I think my kids would like that stuff. I’m looking into next year stuff, too, and I think I’ll get something there. I’m just still trying to hang on this year to the end! Thanks for all your inspiring posts.

Leave a Reply

