Skip to content

A to-do list…

March 15, 2009

Although why I even bother, I don’t know.  Every time we have a school break I have a to-do list a mile long that I barely make a dent in.  But here I am again, thinking about all the things that should get done this week.  I think it does help to make a list though, I’ve already remembered several things I had forgotten about…like finishing the taxes.  Bleh!

Spring Break 2009 plans:

  • Clean the entryway which looks like a school supply store exploded (Seriously, I don’t know what happened, I can’t even walk through it.)
  • Rid the music room of all the dust bunnies the boys miss when they sweep, preferably before my once-a-month student comes on Tuesday
  • COMPLETELY clean off every kitchen countertop and SCRUB!
  • Fold the 3 loads of laundry sitting here from Saturday so I can start the weekly laundry cycle over again
  • Find Doctrine and Covenants reading chart for the boys
  • Buy stamps and find pile of postcards so we can finally start sending them off to our WTM postcard group (Remind me again why I committed myself to something else.)
  • Try to map out the next 6 weeks in school
  • Input visiting teaching stats into the computer at the church
  • Update the Relief Society email list
  • Pick some topics off my ever growing list of blog posts and actually finish them
  • Pay my cello insurance $$
  • Pay my library fines
  • Read.  Lots.
  • Practice Brahms Symphony #4.  Lots. (Which was the whole reason for taking this particular week off in the first place–I was a nutcase last year the week of our March classical concert trying to do school and finish learning Mahler.  43 pages of it.  Brahms is only 16 pages.  I love Brahms.)
  • Remind A to practice the piano even when there is no other semblance of our regular routine
  • Feed the children–that’s always a good idea (Does anyone else forget to make dinner because it’s still so light outside and it doesn’t feel like dinnertime, or is it just me?)
  • Sleep–there’s another good one
  • Oh yes, and finish those taxes–that ranks right up there with…
  • Potty training, which we’ll also be seriously working on again this week with the 4-year-old.  (Which if we’re actually successful at, while accomplishing nothing else, will make for a really good week.)

Sounds like fun, doesn’t it?

The boys’ plans?  Play with trains.  Lots.  They’ll have fun for sure.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 5:20 am

    Oh, your week sounds a lot like mine at times. And the laundry, don’t even get me started. With all the tummy bugs we’ve gone through the past 9 days(3 kids and 2 adults) I’m way behind. Luckily enough, I was able to at least keep some clean clothes for hubby for work. But the blankets and towels and everything that the kids used when sick. UGH!!

    My 5dd FINALLY potty trained about 3 months before she turned 5. So your 4yr will do it. 🙂

  2. March 16, 2009 2:14 pm

    Trying to potty train a 4yo here, too. It’s not going very well. I hope you have better luck 🙂

    Sounds like a busy week. I just did spring break/spring cleaning last week and I haven’t quite recovered. I wish I had kept to some kind of schedule, but we did take out and frozen food and the kids ran wild. But all the closets AND the attic are organized! And the kitchen counters were cleared at one point in there. But I didn’t get to the homeschool planning – and that’s always the fun part 🙂 After this week your kids will be relaxed and revitalized and ready for more school work, and you’ll be exhausted and frazzled. Well, YOU probably won’t be, but I am. Good luck!

  3. March 17, 2009 7:54 am

    You are so good with your lists! Sleep, make dinner–definitely harder when the weather is nice, clean and read should all be on my list too.

    oh, AND PLAY! (That’s a good one boys)

  4. March 17, 2009 10:53 am

    Nice post! Keep it real.I have looked over your blog a few times and I love it.

  5. March 20, 2009 6:33 pm

    My list- sleep in, yell out people for bugging me, overeat etc………You are too inspiring!

  6. March 20, 2009 10:03 pm

    dinner keeps getting away from me with the time change–and thus, our boys are getting to bed later and i have less time in the evenings . . . why do we need dinner in the summer, anyway? (i know it’s not summer yet, but dinner is really a thorn in my side from now till september. it’s always the reason i have to stop doing something that i really want to do in order to feed everyone.)

    how did your week go? my to-do lists during weeks off are always way more ambitious that what actually gets done.

Leave a Reply

