Skip to content

If you’re in the area…

March 19, 2009

From Paris to Vienna

Le Tombeau de Couperin by Maurice Ravel
Symphony No. 4 by Johannes Brahms

Saturday, March 21, 7:30 p.m.
Libby Gardner Concert Hall
University of Utah Campus

******************************************

Two more days and I can relax a bit.  I’m a little on edge at the moment, but I think that’s partly due to it’s being 5:25 p.m. and I haven’t practiced yet today.  It’s coming along though.  We had a really good (and long and hard) rehearsal Tuesday night.  I was just happy to be there (although a few minutes late) after getting a message from DH saying he was stuck at work, spending 15 minutes on the phone trying to find a babysitter for the boys because there was no way I was missing that rehearsal, heating up leftovers for dinner after Kindermusik class, having 12 minutes in which to eat, and then dropping them off at someone’s house on my way because I couldn’t find anyone to come to our house.  Therefore they didn’t get to bed until after 10:30 that night which messed us up yesterday morning, and made me sooooooo glad we’re taking this week off from school! 

But I made it, rehearsal was great, and my stand partner wasn’t even there.  So I was all alone up on the first stand (because the principal cellist sprained a finger and can’t play so I got moved up) and the way the acoustics work in our rehearsal hall, you can never even hear the rest of the cello section.  So it felt like I was the one lone cellist accompanying the orchestra, which was actually pretty nice.  I could really hear myself and now I know exactly what I still need to clean up.  I’m feeling good about it though, and Brahms is just so much fun to play!  It’s very satisfying music.  I’m looking forward to performing it Saturday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 6:33 pm

    Wish I could be there! Good luck!

  2. March 20, 2009 4:57 pm

    Sounds AWESOME! Good luck!

  3. March 20, 2009 6:31 pm

    Ooh I wish I could attend it sounds wonderful! You need to record and post online!

Leave a Reply

