Skip to content

My Personal Weekly Report

March 26, 2009

(Not that I’ve written a weekly report in ages, this should more appropriately be titled “Quarterly Report.”)

I feel like I’ve kind of been floating through life the past three months without too much direction.  I didn’t make any big resolutions for the new year.  At the time, I was completely overwhelmed by my life, it felt like every area of that life needed an overhaul and my first instinct was just to survive each day since I didn’t even know where to start fixing things.  Some things (and days) are still that bad, but other things are looking up, and I’m going to focus on what I have accomplished recently.

Reading

I was doing so well with the 6th-grade reading list from The Well-Trained Mind (WTM) before Christmas.  I had three books left and. . . I still have three books left.  I did set up a new reading list for the year and also decided to join in the “Read 52 books in 52 weeks” challenge on the WTM forums.  We’re on week 12 and I’ve actually finished 11 books so far, picked from my reading list, most of them not very thought provoking, but enjoyable none the less.  I need to pick some challenging books now.  I’m also really enjoying all the children’s books that we’ve been reading for history.  I’ve said this so many times, but I’ll say it again.  I’m learning so much from homeschool!  I love it. 

Speaking of homeschool, we got bogged down in earth science and decided to start afresh with astronomy this week.  We’ve all been very excited about it and I’m looking forward to learning more.  I know virtually nothing about astronomy.  The same goes for birds, so I’m trying to stay current with the outdoor hour challenges again and learn all I can about birds this spring.

I just want to learn it all.  Today.  Life doesn’t work that way however and I have to curb my enthusiasm and take in knowledge in bits and pieces where I can.  I finally finished listening to the Teaching Company lectures on the Early and High middle ages and have just started the Late Middle Ages set.  A lot of it is still over my head, but I just keep listening.  

On my to-read soon list:

  • The Story of Europe by H. E. Marshall
  • Henry V
  • Dante’s Inferno
  • The Four Voyages by Christopher Columbus

Of course I also have multiple scripture reading projects going on, both personally and with the family.  My main goal though this week is to finish the conference report before the next General Conference in 9 days!  I’m close though, I think I’ll finish in time.  I’m really looking forward to General Conference despite being home alone with the boys, without DH that weekend.

Handicrafts

I usually cross-stitch while I listen to conference.  I’ve hardly done any stitching since last conference so no progress to show there.  I’ve been in more of a knitting mood.  I finished scarf #6, this one for A,

p2130363

and countless dishcloths.  We hang out at a dear friend’s house while the boys are in kindermusik classes and I started taking my knitting now that I can knit and talk at the same time.  I get a lot done without really thinking about it, and I just love opening my kitchen drawer to get a new dishcloth out and seeing all the nice, new, clean ones sitting there.  Knowing that I made them all is a really nice feeling.

I’m also working on cable knitting.  That takes a whole lot more mental effort!  I got this great book and made a 3-inch cable, which doesn’t show up very well but which gave me almost as much satisfaction as my stack of dishcloths!  I want to make a cable knit scarf (finally, a scarf for me!) but I have a feeling that’s going to take a very long time, and now that spring is here, I’m out of the scarf mood.  But it’s still a goal.  I like this knitting thing.  It is relaxing.

p2210407

I was also inspired by a movie recently to start a sewing project that has been sitting here for quite some time now.  I actually have two sewing projects.  Project #1 is a practice project so that I won’t mess up the really nice, fancy fabric for project #2.  So now I have the pattern pieces themselves cut out.  Eventually I’ll cut out the fabric (I hate the cutting part) and get to work.  Eventually.

That’s pretty much it.  There are a million other little (and not so little) things I wish I was doing better on like housecleaning, organization, an earlier bedtime, daily cello practice, computer time, keeping in touch with friends, family and blogging buddies, and so on and so forth.  Some days are better than others and I’m not going to obsess over what’s not working. 

At least not today.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2009 5:04 am

    Hey, we all have to learn to organize and just do what we can. As long as you love being with your kids, and you are all learning something, it really doesn’t matter much, all the other stuff.

  2. March 27, 2009 7:47 am

    Your knitting looks great! I have never tried knitting. My Grandma taught me to crochet when I was little and I have done that but haven’t ever picked up knitting needles. It is something on my “One I day I will get to” list.

    You are doing great with your reading too. I just can’t seem to read anything of substance lately. I just can’t focus enough to get through it.

    I am sorry things have felt a bit overwhelming for you the last few months. I know the feeling. I keep thinking… “If I just cut this out…. or do this”…. but then something else seems to take its place or something new happens to make throw things out of wack again. There certainly is a lot weighing down on Moms. I always seem tired and busy but don’t feel like I have accomplished much.

    Anyway… good luck with everything. You are doing wonders!

  3. March 27, 2009 9:36 pm

    Henry V is at the Shakespeare Festival this year! I’m taking Bella and Chloe on June 30. We’re hoping to read it before we go. Your reading lists are always so great!

  4. April 9, 2009 3:16 pm

    k, you truly inspire me with all you accomplish, learn, and aspire to be. thank you.

Leave a Reply

