Skip to content

Sunday quote

April 5, 2009

We each have moments of spiritual power, moments of inspiration and revelation.  We must sink them deep into the chambers of our souls.  As we do, we prepare our spiritual home storage for moments of personal difficulty…

Through the years we take these important spiritual steps over and over again.  We begin to see that “he that receiveth light, and continueth in God, receiveth more light; and that light groweth brighter and brighter until the perfect day.”  Our questions and doubts are resolved or become less concerning to us.  Our faith becomes simple and pure.  We come to know what we already knew.

Challenges, difficulties, questions, doubts–these are part of our mortality.  But we are not alone.  As disciples of the Lord Jesus Christ, we have enormous spiritual reservoirs of light and truth available to us.  Fear and faith cannot coexist in our hearts at the same time.  In our days of difficulty, we choose the road of faith.  Jesus said, “Be not afraid, only believe.”

I just love this quote, I’ve been meaning to post it for several weeks now.  It’s actually from the October general conference talk given by Elder Neil L. Andersen, who was sustained yesterday as our newest Apostle.  I’m looking forward to hearing him speak more. 

I love the idea of our “spiritual home storage.”  We’ve been working on our temporal food storage project lately but a spiritual reserve is equally important for those personal dark days.  I’m treasuring up the wonderful words I heard at conference this weekend. 

Wasn’t conference wonderful?  I just saw that the audio of all the talks is available now.  I’m waiting for Thursday though, when I can print them out and read and highlight and read some more.  There were so many great talks that contained counsel I needed to hear, especially Pres. Eyring’s. 

I also know I missed some of what I needed to hear, what with children running around and needing me for things, and fighting, and whining.  The conference packet of activities I printed out from Cocoa’s blog kept them entertained for maybe 15 minutes between yesterday and today.  And there are more details about (all of) our behavior last night that I could share, but I want to end this on a happy note.  Wasn’t conference great?!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 12:25 pm

    Conference was great! It seemed like there was really a running theme about spiritual preparedness. I’d list some of my favorite talks and quotes, but they are all mixing in my mind. We had some kids running around in our house, too. I’ll figure them out later 🙂 We recorded it and will rewatch some for family home evenings. I’ve taken great notes for the last two conferences, and I didn’t even think to do it at this conference!

Leave a Reply

