Skip to content

Free day, what free day?

April 15, 2009

Today was my free day, my extra day, my cello students are on spring break so why don’t we take advantage of a don’t have to go anywhere day.  And I so wanted to go somewhere.

We didn’t go anywhere.  It was snowing, and cold, and wet, and we probably won’t go anywhere tomorrow either.  All three of my darling children woke up with horribly runny noses this morning.  So we are stuck here, sniffling, sneezing, and guzzling orange juice.  And I really need to get out of this house!

I hate it when C gets a cold first, and he always does get every cold first.  He also gets hay fever and allergies, so I always spend a couple of days debating whether it’s allergies or a head cold.  But when the other two come down with the same symptoms, it’s a head cold.  I think A used an entire box of Kleenex today.

Happily, we got a fair amount of school work done anyway (mean mom that I am who only cancels school if you’re too sick to get out of bed, which is rare), although we seemed to be moving in slow motion.  I wanted to use today to spend time in-depth on our explorers, but we weren’t in the mood.  We only read about Magellan’s circumnavigation of the globe and watched a video about him while we had a picnic lunch in the living room.  I wanted to go to the library but didn’t want to infect everyone else, so we just had quiet reading time here at home which we do almost every day anyway.

So I am left feeling like I didn’t accomplish anything extra with all my free time.  I always think I’ll get so much done when I have a day off from lessons, but it never works out that way.  Maybe if I didn’t have to mother three children, wipe noses, do the laundry, cook dinner, and all those other little things that seem to fall upon my shoulders just because I am the mom.

OK, truthfully, I do it to myself.  I figure that because I’m home, I will get ahead on laundry, and we can do some extra school work, instead of approaching a free afternoon as a chance to do only what I want to do (aside from the necessary mothering bit) or a chance to do something completely outside our normal routine.    Granted, the boys were sick, but I feel like I’m always looking for extra time and then when it comes, what do I do with it?  Nothing much.  Why do I do that?  I have no idea.

But I did read my scriptures early on in the day though, so that was something, right?  And I practiced my cello which has been sadly neglected of late.  That felt good.

Now to survive the rest of the week, if only the sun would shine…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Poppa permalink
    April 16, 2009 6:29 am

    I hear what you’re saying about never being able to find the “spare” time because of the seeming mundane chores that have to be done, but I remind you that the time will come, probably too soon, when all of a sudden the nest will be empty and you will have all the “spare” time you could ever want, but wishing that little ones were still around to fill up the quietness and the holes that they have left. Wasn’t it President Monson who said, find the joy in the journey. The journey is the adventure…. more so than the destination. In spite of the wintry days in our lives… spring is coming with its daffofils, and sunshine, and green, and warmth. If there weren’t wintry days, and sniffles, and chores, and all the rest, I’m convinced we wouldn’t fully appreciate their being gone. Love, Dad.

  2. April 16, 2009 6:59 am

    We had head colds and snowy, icky weather this week too! Bummer.

  3. April 16, 2009 10:26 am

    We’ve had a mini blizzard the past two days. It was treacherous going over the mountain pass yesterday but we needed groceries! I know exactly how you feel about “free time.” I have all these plans of what I want to do but when I actually have some I catch up on the regualr chores.

    I sure love your dad’s comment!

  4. delightsgal permalink
    April 16, 2009 4:48 pm

    K,

    I love those days when you don’t have to go anywhere (but want to just the same). 🙂 I was feeling alone in the blogger mmb world, thx for commenting. I’m truly enjoying your blog. btw, I thought you spoke Italian just from your title, anyways, you should definitely learn it…my Italian friends have told me it’s the “Celestial Language.” Either way, its lovely.

    So it looks like you’ve got some buttons working on your blog. I wonder if there is a certain code for wordpress for I’ve not gotten them to work, though when I figure things out, I’ll let you know. Also, when I first signed into blogger with wordpress, I believe the email was submitted, so I think they should have ours.

    Have a lovely day, take care, katrina

  5. April 16, 2009 8:27 pm

    I am sorry about the not fun weather and the colds. I can’t believe how healthy we have been this winter. Our nice weather is keeping us from doing our school work. The kids just want to be out in the sunshine. I don’t blame them. Before too long it will get so hot it won’t be fun to be outside in the afternoons.

    I have so many of those kinds of days where I plan all sorts of things and never seem to get to them. There is just too much to try to fit in and no energy to make it happen. Good luck on the rest of the week and the colds. I hope you all feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

