Skip to content

It’s a 15-minute day

April 18, 2009

I need help.  My house needs help.  I’ve seriously neglected it this week even though we haven’t really left the house since Monday due to colds and therefore I felt like I had all the time in the world to get so much done.  Well, I get sidetracked so easily, it’s unbelievable.  I do much better when I have a million things scheduled.  I’m much more efficient with my time.  When I have all day to do things, I don’t get anything done!  (Is anyone else like this?) 

Anyway, to keep me on track, it’s a 15-minute day.  I’m following Flylady’s Crisis Cleaning 101.  My timer is my best friend.  For 15 minutes, I’m cleaning the kitchen.  When the timer dings, I’ll hit the living room, or maybe the entryway since the living room looks like a box of Thomas trains exploded in there and I promised the boys they could play lots today because they did such good work in school this week.  But there I go, getting sidetracked again!

Essentially, I’ll clean for three 15-minute sessions, then take a break for 15 minutes (when I can read my Brother Cadfael mystery without guilt.)  It’s amazing how much you can do in 15 minutes.  And yet 15 minutes is really no time at all.  Setting a timer really keeps me on task.  Hopefully by the end of the day, my house will be sparkling, and I’ll have gotten through my list of things that really need to be done today.

  • Read the Relief Society lesson for tomorrow
  • Scripture study
  • Get two checks into the mail
  • Clean the entryway
  • Change the sheets on my bed
  • Finish washing whites and find the Sunday shirts for DH to iron
  • Wash the winter coats (since 70 degrees and sunshine is forecast for the next week!)
  • Mop the kitchen (Probably not a good idea at the moment as everyone is playing in the dirt and then tracking it through the house.  Maybe tonight.)
  • Mop the bathroom
  • Vacuum the living room (probably after the boys go to bed)
  • File school work from the last 3 weeks
  • Pay bills
  • Finish the weekly report
  • Gather up the library books to take back
  • Run to the church to put visiting teaching stats into the computer
  • Answer emails that have been piling up

My timer just dinged!  My 15 minutes for blogging are over.  Off to work!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Up the Tao Staircase permalink
    April 18, 2009 11:02 am

    My friend and I do something similar to this together. We get online and IM each other, and then do 15 minute “bursts” where we run around like crazy trying to get as much done as possible in that 15 minutes. The idea is that anything is tolerable for only 15 minutes! It’s amazing how competitive it gets, and how much we get done.

  2. April 23, 2009 6:43 am

    This sounds like a great idea. I’m exactly the same way about getting less done when there is less to do. I’m going to try this on my next chore day!

Leave a Reply

