Skip to content

Monday, music, and why I love YouTube

April 21, 2009

I’ve about finished everything on my to-do list from Saturday, which is really amazing.  I never finish a to-do list!  I had decided not to mop the kitchen yet, but (fortuitously?) a certain 5-year-old spilled chocolate milk everywhere yesterday and we ended up mopping.  So I can stand to walk barefoot in there again.  DH and the boys were also productive even without a list.  DH came home about 4 hours early on Saturday afternoon and caught the cleaning bug, pruning the roses and helping A mow the lawn.  C stayed busy “digging a mine shaft in the front yard” or so he said.

My productive streak from Saturday was still going strong today.  It was a very long and full day again.  I lowered my expectations slightly knowing DH would be at home, but he ran errands all morning and the boys worked hard knowing they could spend time with him after lunch.  By lunchtime we had gotten through all of our scheduled subjects including history and Latin review and we actually had lunch at 12:00, which rarely happens these days.  The boys then had quiet reading time and helped Daddy with a building project in the basement, and I got free time!!

Reason #37 why I like to run errands by myself:  I can listen to music!

Since we’ve discovered books on tape we are almost always listening to stories in the car.  I really don’t mind listening to books, I’ve caught up quite a bit of children’s literature that way, but we don’t listen to music as much anymore.  Today I realized how much I miss listening to KBYU on the radio.  I forget to turn it on inside the house so I really appreciated Dvorak’s American string quartet as I was driving around downtown today. 

I also love errands by myself because they go so much faster!  I ran to the post office in a flash, went to the library and got every book I needed for school and was out before the 30-minute free parking had expired, and could relax and get my hair cut without wondering what the children were up to.  It was great. 

On top of it all, I had time to come home and practice my cello while DH and the boys played outside.  And here’s why I love YouTube: You can find anything on YouTube!  I’ve been stressing about the Mendelssohn piano concerto we are performing this Saturday night.  We haven’t yet run through it (unless they did last Tuesday when I wasn’t there) and while it doesn’t look hard, you just never know until you play it.  So I found a video of Andre Watts on YouTube and I’m feeling much more assured about tempos and such now.

Now if I could just play the Swedish Rhapsody up to tempo, I’d be feeling even better.

5 more days to go…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2009 4:22 am

    I really admire that you’ve kept playing all these years and even fit in orchestra with kids! I stopped playing my flute after highschool (presumably because I got busy with college, more likely because I was tired of practicing for 2+ hours every day) and now I wish I hadn’t. Picking up an instrument after your out of the habit is very hard to do!!

  2. April 21, 2009 9:07 am

    So glad you’re having some great days! I, too, so enjoy running errands by myself for the very same reasons you mentioned. It feels good to rejuvenate yourself every once in a while!

  3. April 21, 2009 2:19 pm

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment. It is always nice to meet other LDS homeschoolers. I need to spend a little more time on my site, things get crazy, and I also keep up another blog. This will get me in gear.
    I love your site and will have to spend more time checking it out. Happy Homeschooling.
    Maria

Leave a Reply

