Skip to content

Week 34

April 28, 2009

So it’s already Monday, but I thought I’d try to finish up the half-written weekly report for last week.  If I wait until Friday, I’ll never remember all that we did.  School went pretty well, although I was somewhat preoccupied with preparing for my symphony concert.  Our composer this month is Mendelssohn, so we listened to A Midsummer Night’s Dream overture, the Italian” Symphony, and the first piano concerto, which they then got to hear Stephen Beus perform with my symphony on Saturday night.  He was fabulous, and A said his fingers moved so fast they were blurry.  I wish I could have watched him play.  The boys got too antsy after that, so they went home at intermission at no great loss.  Even I thought the Grieg Symphonic Dances were kind of a let down after such an amazing soloist on the first half of the program.

D (Preschool)
Letter X:
We read books about foxes and boxes.  That was pretty much the extent of it.  He’s just excited to get to Z so we can go to the zoo.  (Not like we don’t have a zoo pass and could go anytime we want to.)  Our favorite book was The Secret in the Matchbox.  We laughed and laughed!  Hattie and the Fox was really good too.p4240465

He’s also taken a huge interest in numbers this week and did about 15 pages in his Kumon number book.  His writing is actually pretty legible.  I’m quite impressed. 

C (Kindergarten)
ETC: 3 pages
Math: Exercises 19-23
Reading: 136-142
Copywork: Letter J

A (2nd grade)
Math: Exercises 14-16 review of multiplication, we also started working through our Memorize in Minutes book to learn all the multiplication tables.
Grammar: Lessons 140-144, more pronouns
Cursive: Letter W
Writing with Ease: 4 lessons using stories of Alexander the Great
Latin: Review of lessons 16-20

Science: We read about Venus, Earth, and the moon in several books.

p4240463

Art: Supposedly we’re still studying Giotto, but that is only because I can’t find our Artistic Pursuits book, and the next project is one that DH needs to help us with.  So once again, no art.

History: We read SOTW chapter 33 about Spain, Portugal, and the New World, touching very lightly on the issue of slavery.  They colored conquistadors and we also read and narrated about Cortes, Montezuma, and Tenochtitlan.  I’ve decided that the narrative in our explorer unit is so much less engaging than in Story of the World, and if A wasn’t watching while I read, I could make it more interesting.  But he’s forever pointing out that, “You skipped that sentence,” or “You didn’t read that part.” 

We watched a video about the Aztecs and also The Testaments They also got interested in the history of chocolate, so of course we ate some, and read a few books.  I hope to finish up the Incan and Mayan cultures this week so we can move on and get back to European happenings.  There is still so much to cover before we call it quits on this year.

p4270489

Other Literature: We started Shakespeare this week (which I already wrote about here), reading through a version of A Midsummer Night’s Dream.  I plan to add in some Shakespeare stories every week from now on.  A also read The Wolves of Willoughby Chase and C has once again, read a lot of books that I don’t know about.  Although he did want me to be sure and write down that he read The Velveteen Rabbit, Click Clack Moo: Cows that Type, and Giggle, Giggle, Quack.  We finished listening to The Penderwicks on Gardam Street which we all really enjoyed.  They probably would have enjoyed it even more if they were 11- or 12-year-old girls, but still, it was humorous.

Other Activities: We went to Red Butte Garden on Friday.  It was free admission for Arbor Day.  There were so many people there, and once again, I had to wonder why, when we have a pass and can go anytime, we pick the day that everybody else does.  But they had exploration stations set up all over with things to do, so that was fun.  I really enjoyed all the daffodils, but wish it had been a little sunnier.

p4240477

Oh!  We went to The Mayan for dinner one night.  We were out that direction and happened to remember it and thought it would be a fun experience as we’ve been talking about the Aztecs and the Mayans.  It’s like eating in a jungle and there are cliff divers that dive into a pool of water.  I wish I’d had my camera with me.  That’s the best part of it.  The food is overpriced and not really that exciting, and the boys hardly ate a thing because they were too interested in the divers.  So needless to say, we probably won’t go there again for a long while.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 8:42 am

    We were down in Sandy and did the Mayan, too. Tae LOVED it. Her head couldn’t spin fast enough. There was almost too much for her to look at (and we couldn’t get her to look at the divers!). Her favorite was when daddy took her up front and let her stick her toe in one of the waterfalls. Mommy just sat there, shook her head, and acted like she didn’t know the man that was crazy enough to dangle his 1 year old over the water so she could put her toe in. Their prices have actually come down since I was there last, but I agree about the food.

  2. Michelle permalink
    April 28, 2009 1:57 pm

    Ben was telling me about the Mayan just yesterday–sounds fun. 🙂

  3. April 29, 2009 5:54 am

    A friend told me about a small book (this one is for you) by Bill Bryson on Shakespeare. It is a biography and has been great. I could never get through anything on him and felt like I knew nothing about him. I have really enjoyed this book.

Leave a Reply

