Skip to content

Mission for the weekend:

April 30, 2009

Clean out the closets and the dresser drawers!

It’s that time of year when, according to D, “We can start wearing our short-sleeve pants!” 

We have summer clothes out.  We have winter clothes out.  Every time I think about putting sweaters and warm clothing away, it rains again.  The dresser drawers are overflowing.  And we still had to buy A practically a whole new summer wardrobe today because he gave all of his summer shirts to C after deciding all shirts labelled size 6/7 must automatically not fit anymore now that he is eight.  (Even though he is still skinny enough for all of them.)

C and D on the other hand have more than enough hand-me-downs, yet they still ended up with a new shirt or two, oh, and Thomas the Tank Engine underpants.  D is completely potty-trained (in what was a relatively painless process) but refuses to wear underpants to bed unless possibly, perhaps, we were to buy him Thomas ones.  So yes, I caved in, it’s worth it.  And the moment we came home he had to go and put them on. 

A didn’t want any new shorts because, as he puts it, “I have tons of pants with holes in the knees that we can just cut off.”  Yes, I know you do, child.  Every pair you own has a hole in the left knee (and only the left knee.  I can’t figure that one out.)  But if it’s like last summer, I’ll cut them off, or better yet, he’ll cut them off (including a pair without holes in them) and then I’ll never get around to hemming them up and they’ll look more and more ragged as the summer drags on.  Mostly I don’t care how they look so long as they dress themselves and don’t wear the same shirt for days in a row, but every once in awhile it’s nice not to look like they live and play outside in the dirt all day(which they almost do lately.)  So I bought him a nice pair of khaki shorts  and called it good.   

I hate clothes shopping.

I hate clothes sorting.

But it has to be done, and this year I won’t send them to Grandma’s for a day so I can get it done.

Toy sorting–now that’s another matter entirely.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2009 10:54 pm

    Hey, didn’t you know, the 70’s are back! ;o) (Swine flu and everything!) Good luck with the sorting and organizing!

  2. May 1, 2009 8:58 am

    I love your boys. They are so cute. And they say the funniest things! We sure missed them on Sunday. Primary just isn’t the same without them. Are they doing better?
    Ah, the clothes sorting. We need to do that too. I can’t find the motivation. Tae is finally growing out of most of her onesies. She stayed skinny enough that they still fit, but we are finally pushing the length limit. But sorting won’t happen this weekend. This weekend my goal is to get bells music done for Mother’s Day, poster done for daycare, and help Jon finish up his math homework and prep for his final on Monday. If we’re lucky, we’ll get to the dishes.

  3. May 3, 2009 6:47 pm

    Oooh I am starting the ugly task of sorting tomorrow- as ever closet in this house needs a spring cleaning. I am actually excited to dig out!

  4. May 17, 2009 4:24 pm

    i need to do that same clothes sorting in all of my kid’s closets. and i’ve been woefully procrastinating. my boys also have more pants with holes in the knees than not, and i go back and forth between being grateful that we homeschool and can wear pants with holes in the knees and feeling like i don’t want to be that mom with the kids who always look like ragamuffins:).

    i have had to work hard to convince my kids that the sizes of their clothes do not coordinate with age, as i have a 4 year old in 5s and a 7 year old in 6s. i dread the day when they wear the same size and hand-me-downs let me down!

Leave a Reply

