Skip to content

Reading update

May 6, 2009

I just found out about Barnes and Noble’s summer reading program–Kids in 1st-6th grades read any 8 books, record them in a summer reading journal, and they get a free book!  I don’t think we’ll have any problems meeting that goal.  The boys love to read.  I don’t necessarily think they should be rewarded for reading, reading is the reward around here, but we can’t turn down free books!

I’ve been reading too.  I’ve read 18 books so far off my reading list.  I should probably rename my 999 list and call it my 52 books list.  A group of homeschoolers on the Well-Trained Mind forums are trying to read 52 books in 52 weeks.  So far, I’m caught up!  I was trying to actually read one book per week there for a while, but found myself picking shorter, easier reads so that I could finish them in a week.  I finally decided to just dig into some of the longer ones on my list. 

So I’m currently in the middle of about 5 different books, plus scripture, and started the 600-page Our Sacred Honor, the first book in the Prelude to Glory series about colonial America.  And what do you know, I finished it in one week!  I couldn’t put it down.  I’m really getting excited for next year’s history period (1600-1850) but I’m refraining from checking out the second one for a while.  I have too many other projects that have to get done in the next few weeks.  I also need to finish The Four Voyages by Christopher Columbus anyway, not to mention the Dante and Shakespeare I keep talking about, but never actually get to. 

I’ve been having my personal reading follow our history studies, which has been really helpful for me, but I’ve gotten slightly mixed up.  In between Columbus and a Revolutionary war novel, I’ve also read a few medieval monastery mysteries (Brother Cadfael) and a novel of the plague, not to mention I still need to finish Shadow of the Silk Road, a fascinating account by a British travel writer of his attempts to (somewhat) retrace Marco Polo’s route to China.  I made it to Kazakhstan with him, but it was due back at the library and I need to go check it out again.

I highly recommend A Parcel of Patterns, a young adult novel by Jill Paton Walsh.  It takes place in the village of Eyam, or Plague Village as it is called, an English village that quarantined itself when a plague-infested parcel was shipped from London to the town tailor.  I had read Year of Wonders earlier this year which has the same setting and I think I prefer A Parcel of Patterns.  It was more uplifting and hopeful while still showing the horrors of the plague.

**************************

I’m also joining in the General Conference Book Club hosted by Stephanie at Diapersanddivinity.com.  She chooses a new general conference talk each Sunday and you can return at any time during the week and leave your thoughts and comments.  Since I read the entire Ensign from last conference for the first time ever, I’m inspired to do it again.  And it’s good to read others’ thoughts and impressions on the talks as well (although I’m behind on posting mine.)  This week’s talk is “Get On With Our Lives” by Elder Steven E. Snow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 11:51 pm

    I love hearing what you are reading! It motivates me! I’m thinking I’d like to try the Prelude to Glory series! I’m on book three of Promised Land. I’ve really gotten into it, and am finally glad to find some LDS lit. that I like. (I also like Dean Hughes.) I just happened to pick up Shadow of the Silk Road at Costco last week, I’m glad to hear good things about it!

    In the vein of “the plague,” I always recommend The Speckled Monster. Its a historical novel about smallpox, and I liked it so much I’ve read it twice.

    Happy reading!

    Anne

  2. May 7, 2009 7:26 am

    I love the lds blog you posted. Thanks for passing that along 🙂

  3. May 7, 2009 10:17 am

    I love seeing your list of books too! I have so many I want to read and just haven’t had time lately. Spring busyness with the farm has started, then there will be summer…ack!

    I love the idea of the General Conference Club! I’m off to check it out.

Leave a Reply

