Skip to content

Outdoor Hour–Birds

May 11, 2009

We haven’t been as diligent about blogging our outdoor hour challenges as I would like, but did want to document last week’s.  In addition to learning about house sparrows, wrens, and mourning doves, we were supposed to make time to listen to birds.  As last week was free aviary day (and we actually remembered that in time to go) we decided that would be a great place to go.  And boy were the birds noisy!  I wish I could have identified all the different birdcalls we heard up in the trees.  We did for sure hear the flamingos:

P5070517

The peacocks:

P5070516

And the pelicans:

P5070525

We also enjoyed seeing the bald eagle,

P5070524

and the adorable yellow, fuzzy, new goslings:

P5070510

There were quite a few new baby birds to be seen, and we saw several more birds sitting on eggs, like these swans.

P5070520

Of course we had to measure up:

P5070522

On Saturday, I caught C crouched down outside, perfectly silent (I’ve never seen him sit that still and quiet!) watching a robin walk around on the ground quite close to him.  He’s learning something from all this! 

We are well acquainted with house sparrows and mourning doves.  We see them all the time in our yard, along with robins and quail, and some other little blackish-green birds that I will post a picture of if I ever get a good one.  I cannot seem to identify them, but they sure like the worms in my front yard. 

Sunday night, we visited some friends who have a whole lot of homing pigeons and some doves.  It was quite nice to sit on their deck and listen to the cooing.  I, at least, have been much more aware of the sounds birds make this week.  Now we need to get more diligent about identifying the different calls.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 11:01 pm

    Costco used to have this great book that had photos, descriptions and played the sound that the birds make. We got it for my dad (an avid birder) for Christmas and he still claims its his favorite “ever” Christmas present.

    It sure sounds like you have lots of fun every single day with your boys!!

  2. May 12, 2009 4:48 am

    Now if I could just take those birds to church and put them in front of my bench- so everyone would remain silent! 🙂 Great outing!

  3. May 12, 2009 8:13 am

    We too haven’t been reporting our outdoor hour challenges as well as we have in the past. I always keep in mind what the challenge is and we look for those things and my kids notice everything but I just don’t post about our experience because, I guess, it has more just become a part of our life and isn’t an event. The Aviary looks like fun this time of year with all those new babies.

  4. May 13, 2009 12:05 pm

    Your bird tales are reminding me of what happened a few weeks ago.
    On our walk home from school, we saw a brown chicken sized bird. We couldn’t believe how big it was! It kept trying to escape from us by sticking it’s head through a chain link fence, but it’s body was sooo big it couldn’t go through. Then it would back out and try sticking it’s head through another part of the chain link fence. It was so funny! It finally got around the fence and flew up to the top of a house roof to get away from our examinations.
    Later I looked up birds on the internet and figured out it was actually a female pheasant! In my neighborhood! Wow.
    We need to go to the Aviary… we can get in free every first Thursday… hmmmm.
    Love the birds AND the bird watching!

  5. May 14, 2009 5:22 am

    It was great to see an entry from your family this week. I think about you from time to time and hope that you are still keeping up with your outdoor time.

    I loved this that you wrote, “On Saturday, I caught C crouched down outside, perfectly silent (I’ve never seen him sit that still and quiet!) watching a robin walk around on the ground quite close to him.” Wow! That is wonderful to hear !

    I think you have made nature study a part of your children’s life and that makes me very happy.

    Thanks for sharing your aviary outing with everyone. I always look forward to your entries.

    Barb-Harmony Art Mom

Leave a Reply

