Skip to content

Expensive weekend…

May 22, 2009
  • $422 and a set of new brake pads, after the brakes on our van started grinding horribly last Sunday while coming down the hill from the Oakland temple
  • $60 for a rental car for a day so we could still get around while the van stayed at Big O Tires on Monday
  •  $37.80 in library fines today because between being sick most of last week and then being out of town, I completely forgot about library books.  Whoops!

Oh, and then there was that parking ticket from deciding to go for a cable car ride instead of just running into Ghirardelli for some chocolate, forgetting we were in 1-hr parking.

Yeah.  Expensive weekend. 

But it was a really good trip otherwise!  We all had a great time, at least until we had to spend 11 hours together in the car coming home Tuesday.  I’m so glad I flew down!  I probably should have taken somebody up on their offer to fly me home too.  But then I would have missed out on visiting with Michal at our hotel Monday night and seeing Cocoa and her family in Nevada on Tuesday afternoon.  We’re so grateful for good friends.

DH is wondering just how many friends I have along I-80 anyway, as we also got together with Seastar and her family at Fisherman’s Wharf on Saturday morning. 

P5160585

We had fun riding the double-decker carousel, visiting the Aquarium,

P5150571

Eating clam chowder in bread bowls, and seeing the sea lions off Pier 39:

sea lions

We had a great view of Alcatraz, which we want to visit sometime when the kids are older.

alcatraz

We probably should have gone to the Golden Gate Bridge that day as well since it was a clear day (not to mention abnormally hot.)  On Monday it was fogged in, but we enjoyed it anyway. 

golden gate bridge K

Although A changed his mind about walking across it when he got out of the car and felt the wind.  I thought the wind felt wonderful and I loved watching the fog roll in over the Marin Headlands.  We had intended to drive out to a lighthouse on the coast, but had to get back to Alameda to pick up the van.  Someday…

Someday we want to go back and just have an entire day (or 2 or 5) to experience San Francisco without having to be back anywhere at a certain time and not knowing what traffic will be like…without having to drive around looking for a gas station in the city for over 45 minutes…without having to worry that we’re late in getting ready for a concert because we forgot the clock in the van was still on Utah time.

As for the concerts, they went really well.  Everyone was so welcoming and friendly to me, and so appreciative that I was there.  It really was a great experience for me.  And Beethoven was really fun to perform.  You know, I always hate to practice Beethoven, but love to perform it.  This was no exception, although I’m really glad I put so much time into learning my part ahead of time.  My flight was delayed slightly so I missed out on part of the rehearsal for the von Suppe’ Light Cavalry Overture and had to just sightread it on the first concert, but it all worked out. 

And now I’m taking a cello break for a few weeks!  I’m a little worn out.

Other highlights:

Seeing the Oakland LDS Temple:

P5170588

Watching the cable cars on the turntable, this was endlessly fascinating for my three train fanatics:

P5170598

Eating ice cream at Ghirardelli’s:

P5180610

Visiting the USS Hornet, the carrier used as the recovery ship for the Apollo 11 lunar mission:

USS Hornet

It was renamed the Hornet after its sister ship, which took part in the Doolittle Raid on Tokyo, was sunk in October 1942.  They have overnight programs where you can come on board and spend the night, sleeping below decks in the bunks.  DH wants to come back.  I’d rather not.  There’s that little thing called claustrophobia.  But I told him I would come back for the big band dances, period dress encouraged.  That would be fun.

On board the Hornet with the San Francisco skyline across the Bay:

P5180627

14 Comments leave one →
  1. johnfinster permalink
    May 22, 2009 10:02 pm

    We actually did go to Alcatraz on the second boat of the day, staying almost four hours (you can return on any ferry anytime before six). Very worthwhile – not only for the prison: the view of San Francisco, the east bay, the Golden Gate, headlands, Sausalito – all wonderful, not to mention the island itself. The prison buildings inside are nearly original with changes towards tourism. On the outside, the prison buildings have deteriorated and weathered asthetically. The state park system and local volunteers have made the grounds very beautiful.

    Take a sandwich and absolutely carry a bottle of water. Well worth it – regardless of age.

    They say the evening tour which costs a few bucks more is even better 🙂

  2. May 22, 2009 11:58 pm

    It looks like you had fun, despite the financial set backs!

  3. May 23, 2009 7:05 am

    Holy cow! I’m exhausted just reading. I loved the little temple picture. I could just hear them singing, “I hope they call me on a mission…” 🙂

    Looks like a good time was had by all.

  4. May 23, 2009 7:43 am

    You certainly squeezed a lot into one weekend. I am glad you got home all in one piece (including the van). Sorry it ended up being such an expensive trip. That is California for you!

  5. May 23, 2009 9:12 am

    You got to eat at Ghirardelli’s? YUM! I too love the temple picture. The boys look so handsome! It was so fun to visit with you. Next time you’ll have to try coming all the way out to the farm. The boys would love it!

  6. May 23, 2009 3:34 pm

    What a great trip! Bummer on having to fix the car.

  7. Gina permalink
    May 23, 2009 7:53 pm

    Wow. Looks like you had alot of fun! Love seeing the pictures. Sorry to hear about the finances…never fun.

  8. Denise permalink
    May 23, 2009 8:37 pm

    looks like a great trip. I am always impressed at your bravery when you do these road trips with the kids. We have one coming up this summer and I’m already worried somebody won’t survive!

  9. May 23, 2009 8:50 pm

    Sounds like you had a good time(minus the $$). But at least you are thinking positive.

  10. May 23, 2009 10:50 pm

    it was so fun to meet you and sit around talking in the hotel lobby until way past my bedtime! i only wish our boys could have gotten together, but i’m sure there will be another opportunity. next time we’ll come with you to ghiradelli!:) and i love the picture of your boys and the bridge.

  11. May 24, 2009 4:30 am

    Sounds like a fantastic (yet expensive) trip. I love the photos. Eating a clam chowder at Pier 39 is on my “To do list before I die”.

    Thanks for sharing!

  12. May 24, 2009 10:17 am

    What a great trip!!!

  13. May 24, 2009 11:47 am

    Awesome – How fun to meet up with fellow bloggers a long the way! This trip looks like a great time!

  14. May 30, 2009 7:39 am

    What a fabulous trip! I love all the pictures. So cool that you got to see the USS Hornet. Sam is jealous. I also think it is sooo neat that you got to visit all those terrific bloggers!

    I’m glad you made it back safely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

