Skip to content

Yes, I still have a blog

June 22, 2009
A man came home from work and found his three children outside, still in their pajamas, playing in the mud, with empty food boxes and wrappers strewn all around the front yard.
The door of his wife’s car was open, as was the front door to the house and there was no sign of the dog. Proceeding into the entry, he found an even bigger mess.  A lamp had been knocked over, and the throw rug was wadded against one wall.

In the front room the TV was loudly blaring a cartoon channel, and the family room was strewn with toys and various items of clothing.

In the kitchen, dishes filled the sink, breakfast food was spilled on the counter, the fridge door was open wide, dog food was spilled on the floor, a broken glass lay under the table, and a small pile of sand was spread by the back door.

He quickly headed up the stairs, stepping over toys and more piles of clothes, looking for his wife. He was worried she might be ill, or that something serious had happened.

He was met with a small trickle of water as it made its way out the bathroom door.

As he peered inside he found wet towels, scummy soap and more toys strewn over the floor. Miles of toilet paper lay in a heap and toothpaste had been smeared over the mirror and walls.

As he rushed to the bedroom, he found his wife still curled up in the bed in her pajamas, reading a novel.  She looked up at him, smiled, and asked how his day went.  He looked at her bewildered and asked, “What happened here today?”

She again smiled and answered, “You know every day when you come home from work and you ask me what in the world I do all day?”

“Yes,” was his incredulous reply.

She answered, “Well, today I didn’t do it.”

This is one of my all-time favorite jokes.  Sadly, it’s a little too true to life at the moment.  I don’t think I really notice how many little things I do around the house each and every day until I am…not doing them.  And I have not been doing them for about the last six weeks.  And the house looks it! 

I will say that DH knows how much I do around here on a daily basis and he has been fabulous lately since I’m just not up to doing it all right now.  He cooks a lot.  He’s taken over washing the dishes for me (which he hates to do), he helps the kids pick up their stuff, and helps them fold all the laundry and get it put away.  Eventually.  But he still has a full-time job to do outside the house and there are just so many little things that don’t get done every day. 

When I’m feeling normal and well and not worrying about what to eat next and whether or not it will stay down, I’m constantly in the habit of walking through the house and picking up this, and straightening that.  I do it mindlessly and they are really small things, but by the end of the day, they really add up to a nicer, neater home.  On one hand it drives me crazy to see all the clutter that is slowly taking over while I expend what little energy I have on growing a baby.  On the other hand, it has made me realize that we need some better habits and routines in place for everyone so that when Mom just isn’t functioning, the home doesn’t fall apart. 

On a happier note, one of our inner-city service missionaries dropped by last Friday out of the blue to see if she could cut the boys’ hair, saying she felt prompted to throw her hair things in the car when she had to come downtown on some church business, just in case we would be home.  It was 1:00, there were toys from one end of the house to the other, the kitchen looked awful, I had just gotten out of the shower, and was about to eat lunch.  The boys hadn’t eaten yet either, but weren’t particularly starving so she came in and cut their hair while I ate.  She hadn’t heard I was pregnant, but after chatting with me, she said I must be overwhelmed, so she stayed another hour and cleaned my entire kitchen for me.  I must say, it has not been that clean in weeks.  The dishes are never quite all done so the entire drainboard and sink don’t ever seem to get scrubbed.  People cook, but the stovetop never seems to get cleaned everyday.  It was just such a blessing for me to see some shine and sparkle in the kitchen for a change. 

Now I’m trying to figure out how to keep going on the rest of the house.  We started our old morning routine chart again today (pictures to come).  We’re on summer break, but I can see that we need more routine around here, including more housework for the boys, as they are already starting to pick at each other and argue more.  I’m still trying to decide just how the rest of the summer will go, but for now, I can only seem to take life one day at a time.  Unfortunately my head still goes a million miles an hour and I’ve had many thoughts I want to blog about, but my body just doesn’t have the energy to convert them into typed words.  We’ll see what happens next…

Off to eat more Haagen-Dazs…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2009 7:56 pm

    Loved the story. Hope you get to feeling better soon. Making a baby is tough work, I know 🙂

  2. June 23, 2009 9:04 am

    It is true… You don’t know how much you do each day until you don’t do it. I am always surprised how quickly the house can go from picked up and clean to disaster.

    I hope you feel more like yourself soon. In the mean time, rest.

  3. June 23, 2009 6:34 pm

    This was funny- but time to relax! You don’t need to be stressing about anything but your well-being for the next year! I am so excited for you!

  4. Gina permalink
    June 24, 2009 11:10 am

    I’ve heard that story lots of time, but it always gets better when I read it. That’s so great that your hubby is helping out, especially during these crazy times. Take advantage of it and get as much rest as you can!

    • June 24, 2009 3:46 pm

      I’m sorry you’re still not feeling well! How wonderful that your husband is helping out so much though. I love the fact that the Sister Missionary was inspired to come and help you. Things like that really help remind us that God is mindful of our needs.

      I hope you get feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

