Skip to content

Back into habits

June 29, 2009

OK, this week is all about getting back into some routines.  Two weeks is about the max for unlimited play time before we start getting grumpy with each other and not wanting to pick up anymore.  I myself really needed a few weeks to do nothing (and believe me, I’ve done nothing!)  and everyone is needing a little more structure in our days now. 

As DH is off on Mondays, those are the new field trip days with Daddy.  Today he took the boys to see some World War II aircraft down at the Provo airport (hopefully they’ll remember to take pictures for me) and also planned to catch a movie together.  I’m here all by myself where I’m supposed to be getting myself organized.  It’s not going so well, although I did wash my hair and put on some makeup for the third day in a row.  I think that’s some kind of record for me lately.  

I still wonder why I have 8, 6, and 4-year olds and we just can’t seem to keep the morning habits going.  I mean, how hard is it to remember you get up, pray, make your bed, get dressed, comb your hair and brush your teeth?  You’d think we’d have that little routine down by now, but no.  We don’t.  So we pulled the morning routine chart back out and nothing else (technically) happens until the cards are all turned over.  (I say technically because right now, they get up with the sun which is way earlier than I feel up to making an appearance in the morning.  Mornings are not my best time.  Not that I feel fabulous in the afternoon or evening either…)  Anyway, they often find ways of entertaining themselves if I’m not right there to nag remind them of what they’re supposed to be doing.  My main goal for everyone in the next six months is to be more self-sufficient as Mommy will have a lot on her plate come 2010.

I tried sticker charts and check-off charts and those just didn’t ever work very well with little hands.  I finally bought a pocket chart at the teacher supply store and made cards for everyone in their own color.  All they have to do is flip the card over when the task is completed.  Even D can handle it.  P6240677

Last year I would put in individual cards for their morning chores as well, but I didn’t do so well keeping track of all the cards.  Now I have a separate chart that just lists who does what on what day of the week, and it doesn’t change often.  In fact, I need to redo the lists now that everyone is older and now that DH has been having them do more work to help me out while I’m pregnant.  They’re capable of a lot more than we give them credit for! 

The pink cards are dinner time kitchen cards that rotate on a weekly basis so those that just “Haaaate to sweeeeep!” only have to suffer through it until the next Sunday. 

Our major focus is perseverance, and the ability to stick to a task until it is finished.  We’re terrible at this lately.  Anytime someone feels like not doing what they’ve been asked to do, they wander off and start something new.  We had a long talk about this last night with Daddy.  I feel bad, because I have not been the best example lately.  I get tired frequently and sometimes just have to stop what I’m doing to sit for a while.  And I’m also not always there to keep at them until they finish a task.  But that’s life at this moment.  A is actually pretty good.  C and D need some serious help though.  I need some help with incentives.

We’ll add to this our school plans too, but I will save them for the next post.  I got extra wordy today.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 7:19 am

    I love the pocket chart idea for the whole family. It is exactly what I need. Thanks so much for posting this.

    Another thing we have been doing for motivation lately is filling a glass jar with macaroni noodles for when they complete their chores and listen to mommy and daddy. They get macaroni taken away when they don’t listen or are mean to their brothers/sister. This is the “Family Fun Jar” and when it gets full we will be going somewhere fun for the family. It has been working really well for my stubborn 4 year old who would always slack off on her part of cleaning.

    Well I hope you are feeling well with the pregnancy. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

