Skip to content

Can we just skip July 2009?

July 8, 2009

I’m already tired of it.  I’m mad at the world and feeling frustrated and kind of helpless at the moment. 

Apparently A does have swine flu.  He’s had it since last week.  There was a miscommunication or something between the doctor and DH or the nurse or somebody.  I don’t know, I wasn’t there.  I’m getting all the information second-hand.  I guess they meant to convey that he didn’t have the regular influenza, but with all the flu symptoms, it had to be the H1N1 virus or swine flu because that’s the only flu that’s going around right now.  And regardless of what the test said because the tests are not terribly accurate.

After DH took A back to the doctor with a much worse cough and sore throat yesterday, now they have decided the entire family should be taking Tamiflu so we won’t get infected or at least won’t get it as bad.   Particularly me since I’m pregnant.  Even though we’ve already been hanging out with a child with swine flu for the past eight days!  We’re back to being quarantined in this house with each other.  I think I have a small inkling of what it must have felt like in the middle ages to be boarded up inside your home because someone else inside had the plague and the people outside didn’t want it to spread. 

Except now A has pneumonia developing in his left lung and is up at Primary Children’s Hospital with DH for the night, and who knows how much longer after that. 

And I feel utterly helpless. 

I spent last night in and out of sleep listening to A cough his lungs out, and I couldn’t be the one to go in and comfort him.  To protect my littlest one, I’ve had to step aside all week and let DH comfort and care for our oldest one.  That has been the hardest thing for me to do.  I’m the mom.  I’m the nurturer.  I want to be there for them.  It’s so hard to let go and let someone else care for, and comfort, and soothe.  

Now I’m just trying to hold it together for the other two here at home with me, and praying that A gets better and that nobody else gets sick, and that we can get beyond this.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Linders permalink
    July 8, 2009 5:11 am

    Oh, Kristiana! Hope A gets better, no more of this worse stuff, and that you and the rest of the family don’t get it. Being a pregnant sick mommy would be terrible. Saying prayers for you.

  2. Gina permalink
    July 8, 2009 5:32 am

    I’m so sorry what you guys are going through. I agree, it’s hard to step back and not take care of your children, but right now it’s for the best. Wishing you guys a speedy recovery!

  3. Denise permalink
    July 8, 2009 8:16 am

    Oh, I’m so sorry. We will pray for you.

  4. July 8, 2009 8:28 am

    Thanks for the update. We got the message first thing this morning (from Woody, I think…). PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF THERE IS ANYTHING I CAN DO. Need someone to bring in dinner tonight-just say the word. I’ll call you at lunch to see how you are doing.

  5. July 8, 2009 9:56 am

    ACK! I hope A begins to get better soon. AND that none of the rest of you get it. Praying for you over here as well. Hang in there!

  6. Michelle permalink
    July 8, 2009 11:14 pm

    Wow, that’s awful. It must be so hard to not be able to help, but thank goodness your husband is able to be there with him. Take care of yourselves, and tell A we hope he feels better very soon!

  7. July 8, 2009 11:33 pm

    We will be praying for your family!! I hope A gets well soon. I know it must be so hard to not be able to care for him the way you are use to. It must be hard for A too. 😦 Please keep us posted. Can we send A (and C and D) some letters, pictures and trinkets?

Leave a Reply

