Skip to content

Fun Mom dropped in yesterday

July 14, 2009

It was nice to have her around for a change.  She’s been noticeably absent the last two months or so.  She made lemon-blueberry muffins with C and D while A was at the doctor with DH.  She let them help with everything which, while greatly increasing the preparation time, greatly increased the enjoyment of the participants.  D even got to learn how to run the juicer for the lemon. 

P7130682

The muffins were scrumptious, although we were enjoying them so much we forgot to take a picture of the finished product.  We bought some muffin mixes in #10 cans for our food storage and decided to try one out a few weeks ago.  They were awful, although if we really had to live off of our food storage I think I could gag them down.  This recipe is more involved than a simple mix, but the results are so worth it.  I can’t decide if it’s the sour cream, the lemon juice and peel, or just the fresh blueberries that make them so yummy.  Probably all of the above.  It makes me want to go buy more blueberries. 

Thanks, Fun Mom!  Don’t stay away so long this time!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2009 5:26 pm

    That’s great that you are feeling better and that A is better too! We made blueberry muffins today too. How funny 🙂

  2. July 14, 2009 6:22 pm

    Sounds wonderful! We make something similar, but probably not as healthy! We call them Pink Lemonade Cupcakes. Your making me hungry just thinking about them! ;o)

  3. July 14, 2009 10:20 pm

    I sure hope fun mom comes back to our house. Inpatient mom seems to be in residence. My kids always want to help but I am too tired to let them. It is always so much quicker and easier if I just do it. I know I need to let it go and let them help. It is good for them and in the end will be good for me. One day they will be making these things on their own without my help, I hope! If I can just kick impatient, cranky mom out and let fun mom stay for an extended visit.

    I am glad that everyone is better. Lemon Blueberry muffins sure sound good. Maybe we will have to make something lemon tomorrow. That sounds so tasty!

  4. July 15, 2009 6:52 am

    I love Fun Mom. She’s here occassionally as well.;)
    Your muffins sound delicious. I have a sugar cookie recipe that uses sour cream and they’re wonderful.

  5. July 22, 2009 4:59 pm

    i have been trying hard lately to summon fun mom. she has managed to show her face for an hour here and there, which is better than nothing. i am in the midst of pondering and assessing who i want to be and what i want to accomplish as a mom and a homeschooler and coming up with a plan that will help to make that happen. one thing i know–it takes a lot of prayer for fun mom to come out and play!:)

Leave a Reply

