Skip to content

The Stack

July 18, 2009

P7170468-1

So there’s the stack of new (or new to us) school books for this upcoming year.  They’ve been sitting there since March.  Somewhere in the next two weeks I’m finally going to sit down and work out some sort of plan for them.  I asked A if he thought we’d really use all of those books and he said of course we would.  He’s such an optimist!  His new Writing with Ease still hasn’t been added to the pile because it won’t be shipped until August and our science is an ebook that I have yet to print out.

I went kind of crazy with curriculum research and shopping a few months ago.  At the time I kind of wondered why I was so anxious to be done with it.  But now, looking back on the past two months of our lives, I am so glad I’ve had that stack sitting there just waiting for me to have the energy and desire to think about it.  I put a lot of time into researching just what I think will work best for us so I can get the most out of our $$, and so far I don’t feel anxious about any of it and don’t want to change a thing.  I’m actually looking forward to digging into it. 

This year’s planning was fairly easy.  We liked just about everything we used last year, so just went on to the next level for A in math, writing, history, science, and grammar.  It’s so easy to get caught up in the rave reviews about curricula from other moms, but when I sit down and truly ponder our goals and our children, I’m rarely tempted to just ship or make drastic changes in what we’re using.  Don’t fix what’s not broken! 

So far, I’ve only ever switched major programs twice.  Saxon math just wasn’t for us, so we switched to Singapore.  And as much as I loved First Language Lessons, we just never seemed to use it.  So Growing with Grammar gets done, A likes it, and it’s been a good switch.  There have also been a few extras that I’ve had good intentions for, but never got around to using.  All in all however, the time spent researching has paid off and I have very few purchases I regret.

I did find out how much more it can cost, at least this year, to educate multiple children.  For the most part, A has gotten the bulk of the new books each year.  Now that C will officially start 1st grade and begin doing more, I’ve had to buy two grammar books, two writing books, and two math books.  I wasn’t using any of those programs when A was in first grade.  Each of those is a one-time purchase for the text though so after this year, I’ll only need to replace the student pages, assuming D will use the same programs that is.  (I’m crossing my fingers.)  Next year’s history will be a new purchase as well, but then I’ll have the entire set of Story of the World and the accompanying activity guides for starting the world history rotation over again and then I’ll be back to focusing on A as he’ll need to go more in depth.

So I begin to see the advantages to homeschooling multiple children.  Hardly anything is a one-time purchase, it’s all an investment.  Now I just need to invest in more bookcases.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2009 6:48 am

    Looks like a nice stack to me! I want to get that Drawing with Children book, you will have to let me know if you like it.

    Also, how are you going to do history now with two school age children. Are you going to do 2 different years with them or keep it the same for both like you have been doing?

    • cellista permalink*
      July 18, 2009 1:40 pm

      I’ve actually had Drawing with Children for years and am determined to use it this year. Both C and A want to draw and I really need to advance beyond stick figures myself.

      There is no way I could do two different history years and stay sane! Besides, C has been here and listening to our history for the past two years so I’ll just fold him into our year 3.

  2. July 18, 2009 9:23 am

    That does look like quite a daunting stack. But at the same time it looks so exciting to be able to go through them and make plans for the coming year. I haven’t finished all my buying. I have a few more items I already am planning on using but am spacing out the purchases so I don’t buy everything all in the same month. More or less we are ready to start our school year again in September. If I can pull myself together by then. Maybe I need to pull out all the books we plan to use for next year and stack them up as a reminder of things to come. At the moment they are somewhat scattered about on different bookshelves.

  3. July 18, 2009 5:52 pm

    I just love this time of year when all the planning is taking place. Even though we’ve started school for next year already I have yet to gather all the books together in one place. It’s on my to-do list.

    Schooling multiple aged children definitely has it’s advantages but it can become overwhelming too.

  4. July 22, 2009 6:58 am

    That is a huge stack. I’ve never done that before. I think if I tried I would just run away and never come back. Many of your books look familiar! I need to get organized soon. We are already doing half-school (Latin, math, writing). I want to do Drawing with Children, too.

Leave a Reply

